Today

Grant Andrew
100 Naked Words
Published in
1 min readFeb 2, 2017

We try to sum up our days, like time can withstand arithmetic.

Begin with sorrow, add laughter, subtract anxiety, and divide by busy.

Stop. Life is greater than the sum of its parts. Life is indivisible.

Some parts of the day are more difficult than others, but part of me enjoys all. Tomorrow, I suspect will have its moments too, but I am ready. Come on sadness, sit by me. Bathe my laughter in your truth. Irony, show me your witty face. Hope, shine in the spokes of sun piercing the south-faced window.

Today a Bald Eagle landed in the far tree. He watched me with a sort of large-eyed curiosity. Inside a clear glass pane, I tried to do my work. The nature of my task seemed suddenly less important. I was in the presence of greatness.

This is how life goes. One emotion, overruled by another. One expression bowing to the other. Something difficult happened, but in the end, it could not withstand the gaze of the better angels.

Toward the mountains, the weather is changing. A front approaching. Ominous. But over the mesa, the sun still shines. Not everything is important — and some things are just more wonderful. Cherish those.

--

--

Grant Andrew
100 Naked Words

Finding words, finding my way…I write songs and some other things too. Whatever it takes to keep myself hopeful.