Day 9: What defines us?

NATALIIA TOTKA
100 Naked Words
Published in
2 min readMay 1, 2016

I’ve been doing a lot of questionable things lately and I’ve been pondering on it for long sleepless hours in my astonishingly comfy bed.

And still I have no clue what defines me.

Size, weight? Goals?

Maybe hopes and dreams?

Or that voice in my head that tells me to do better, be better?

All the above is important and seem to have a big influence on my life, where I end up, so to say.

But does it define me as a human?

Are we defined by what we do and that is who we are?

Or we are who we are, cause we make those particular decisions?

Actions and reactions? Is it really the definition of ME?

Obviously thinking and overthinking comes with a huge primate brain.

Why do I have to define myself? I am me. However I am. I don’t need to be defined by the Urban Dictionary. Maybe someday I’ll be defined by Wikipedia like

Best-selling author, pro-boarder, mother of two, loving wife and just a bit of a crazy person.

And there will be pics of my family with our big dog and my smoking hot husband and me smoking pot somewhere on the background =) *joke*

Well, of course, I’ll be smoldering as well. lol

In the end, we define ourselves and that’s the beauty and the beast of it

Cause we can define ourselves into depression and suicidal behaviour

or

We can throw away all the self-pity left and start doing something to not end up in a hole dug up with our own bare hands.

And what I like to say ( a lot )

I never wish to be easily defined

--

--