What Do You Do When Life Throws You a Curve Ball?

Nicole Cayer
100 Naked Words

--

BY NICOLE CAYER

For the record, I am awful with life’s curve balls. I am always surprised when they’re thrown at me. It takes me a long time to catch up to reality and hit the ball only to get to first base.

If I could learn about the game of life from anyone, it would be from my aunt. Years ago, her mother and aunt passed away from cancer. With her cousin’s encouragement, she took the BCN1 gene test. Like her cousin, the results were positive. As a precaution, my aunt made the decision to proceed with a double mastectomy and hysterectomy. Unfortunately, the doctors did in fact see cancer.

If this was happening to me, I will 100% admit it now, I would be hysterical and panicking. My aunt is calm and collective, taking one day at a time. She understands there are certain things she can control, like the people who visit. And, certain things she can’t control, like the weakness and sickness she gets from chemotherapy.

I can’t even imagine what she is going through.

But, I do believe relying on her family and friends, her faith, and being positive is giving her the strength she needs.

Life threw her a curve ball and she’s hitting her home run like a pro.

Like this article? Please show your support by clicking that little ❤ Thank you in advance for your support. Feel free to check my other stories here.

Want to share your thoughts about overcoming life’s curve balls? Comment below or connect with me on Twitter.

--

--

Nicole Cayer
100 Naked Words

Helping busy people explore 3 key areas: spirituality, minimalism & creativity. Get the free 15 minute Journal Booster Guide: becomingfaithful.ca/journalbooster