When down time = guilt time

Dan O W
100 Naked Words
Published in
1 min readApr 15, 2017
Pic courtesy of Geryerbaby: https://pixabay.com/en/legs-window-car-dirt-road-relax-434918/

I love the public holidays when I just get to chill out with my kids and relax. We sleep in, play games, read books and just hang out. I love it.

But then a day or so in, I start to feel guilty. It creeps up my spine and sends my muscles jiggling. My eyes dart around looking for things to do. My to-do list starts to build in my head and I feel the sweat of burden build on my skin. I focus on the minutia and forget to enjoy myself.

I start to feel uncomfortable and I don’t know why.

Self care is all the rage, so my brain overrules my heart and I force myself to just sit. But then it creeps again and I’m off and working…..laundry, cooking, cleaning up…..

Am I that programmed to feel guilty when not gainfully engaged?!? And why don’t I see self care and relaxing as gainfully engaged?!?

--

--

Dan O W
100 Naked Words

Mother, adventurer, business woman, writer (maybe?), is there a limit to what we can be?!?!