When to be Selfish

Angelina Bruno
100 Naked Words
Published in
1 min readAug 10, 2016

After going through a split, a lot of people have told me to use this time in my twenties to be selfish. Only in the sense that I need to do and figure out what is right for me personally in order to figure out who I am.

I was there for someone today who was making a major decision regarding a career change. She is no longer in her twenties. She has a family to think about when making major decisions.

Talking it through with her, I realized it is so important to hold on to the principle of doing what is right for you. Yes, compromises and sacrifices must be made, but living a fulfilling life is the only way to reallly be there and present for your family.

I am taking this time on my own, knowing and appreciating that I don’t need to worry about anyone else’s needs or wants. I want to feel fulfilled before I share my life with someone again someday and I will never lose sight of seeking out the things that bring me joy again.

--

--