When you meet a person who is old but gold

Shruti Sharma
100 Naked Words
Published in
1 min readJun 24, 2017

I was genuinely having stomach butterflies before meeting with DMRC guys (the metro transportation authorities). My mind was numb- what if they don’t get the idea? What if they straightforwardly refuse to do it? What if they thrash us for starting it off without prior permission? What if they ask us to stop it right away? What if they are unreasonable and illogical?

You know, the negativity. The chatter of demons & the evil that arouses self-doubt. The questions had no sense, had no logic- yet they made me nervous.

Thankfully, Tarun was there to keep me sane.

We reached the DMRC office before time. I entered the room breathing heavily, praying to all the gods to give me words without fumbling.

To my Indian readers- you would probably understand my condition better- the panic attack of meeting an ‘Indian Government Officer’ who I doubted will be nearing his retirement days. You know how officials in India work.

But you would not believe- the person we met- he was old, but a gem of a person. With that smile on his face, he heard everything that we had to say earnestly. Even better, he gave us some suggestions as well, for a better execution. And hell yeah, he gave us a positive.

God bless the humble soul.

This post is a part of challenge that I took. I will be writing 100 words everyday for 100 days. Day forty six is here. Thank you for reading.

--

--

Shruti Sharma
100 Naked Words

Storyteller @Quovantis, BookFairy @booksontheMetro. Merry Giggler. Reader and Writer. I share my experiences and experiments on Instagram @shrutibookfairysharma