Why Growing Apart is Not a Bad Thing

Nicole Cayer
100 Naked Words
2 min readSep 9, 2016

--

BY NICOLE CAYER

There are times I think about some of the relationships I’ve had in the past that have come and gone. My initial gut reaction is a feeling of sadness and guilt. “I should have tried harder to keep in touch” is often the self talk that runs through my mind. My inside voice then says: “Well, it takes two, I can’t be doing all the work” ….Naturally this gets me off the hook

The reality is we shouldn’t feel bad when we grow apart from our friends. Personal growth happens at different times and at different rates. As we learn new things and step away from our own status quo, we become a newer version of ourselves. We discover new and different ways to look at things . And over time, we begin to not have as much in common with our friends as we used to. And that’s okay, it’s not a bad thing, it’s a natural thing.

I believe people enter our lives for a reason. We don’t always know why, but we can be confident the impact of these relationships make us who we are today.

When a relationship ends, we make room for new people to enter our lives. People who see us and understand who we are today, not for who we were in the past. People who will push us to a whole new level or surprise us and swing us in a brand new direction.

Enjoy the ride. I know I will!

Like this article? Please show your support by clicking that little ❤ Thank you in advance for your support. Feel free to check my other stories here.

Want to share your thoughts on the impact of friendships on our lives? Comment below or connect with me on Twitter.

--

--

Nicole Cayer
100 Naked Words

Helping busy people explore 3 key areas: spirituality, minimalism & creativity. Get the free 15 minute Journal Booster Guide: becomingfaithful.ca/journalbooster