100 Story Challenge/Contest/You Win Stuff /Whatever You Want to Call It Thingy

Inspire your fellow writers and win so-so prizes.

Quiet Cacophony
100 Stories

--

Yes, that’s me with a My Little Pony Band-Aid on my mouth. It has to do with snoring. I made this via Canva.

Writers are artists. If you get 100 painters in a room to paint the same flower, you’ll get 102 different paintings. If you get 100 cooks to make an omelet, you’ll get 98 different omelets.

I want to see what happens when we get 100 writers in the same room. Hopefully, we’ll get more. More writers and more stories, all writing about the same thing.

Why? I read an article by Heather Campbell that talked about putting your individual spin on a story. We can all talk about the same thing, but we all will present it differently. Our voice. Our style.

Write Sleeping Beauty — your way

I want you to write the story of Sleeping Beauty, but in whatever way you choose. It can be fiction, nonfiction, or a poem. Whatever you want. Keep it to 5 pages or less; more on that later.

Neil Gaiman is a great author. He’s one of the world’s best. He took Kipling’s Jungle Book and rewrote it by having a baby raised by a graveyard’s residents. More on that later, too.

Your goal, if you so choose, is to retell the tale of Sleeping Beauty. I wouldn’t advise looking up this story’s…

--

--