Or I could…

David Kadavy
100 Words About
Published in
1 min readAug 7, 2017

It’s easy to follow your impulses all of the time. But your impulses don’t always know what’s best for you.

How many times have you visited Facebook or checked your email, and not had any idea why you were bothering?

Next time you feel one of these impulses, say to yourself “or I could…”

  • When you feel the urge to check Facebook, say to yourself “or I could…” I could watch a stream of highlights from other people’s lives. Or I could brainstorm in my notebook how I can make my own life better.
  • When you roll out of bed in the morning and reach for your phone, say to yourself “or I could…” I could start the day bombarded by what other people want. Or I could spend my first moments of consciousness working on what I want.
  • When you go to click on that article with the incendiary title, say to yourself “or I could…” I could read this misleading article, while my eyeballs are auctioned off to advertisers. Or I could close this window and pick up my guitar.

Just imagine what a lifetime of “or I could” could add up to.

--

--

David Kadavy
100 Words About

Author, ‘Mind Management, Not Time Management’ https://amzn.to/3p5xpcV Former design & productivity advisor to Timeful (Google acq’d).