35. The Beatles — With The Beatles (1963)

Brian Braunlich
1001 Album Project
Published in
2 min readApr 14, 2020
Such fun kids
  1. I’ve been wondering how 1001 Albums would handle the Beatles. With The Beatles is indeed their first album, but it was split into two for its release in the USA; it didn’t get a true release stateside til 1987. I’m glad the list is going with the more legitimate original release, though.
  2. Those who know me know I’m something of a Beatles contrarian. It’s not that I hate the Beatles; I just don’t get the obsession. I’ve been wondering how my feelings would end up changing in the context of this list, and the answer seems to be…TBD.
  3. On the one hand, I think I appreciate the Beatles’ sound here a bit more than I had before. The biggest rock acts I’ve encountered so far are the Everly Brothers, Elvis, Little Richard, Fats Domino. With The Beatles does sound a bit more fresh than those acts, with clear Motown influences but still hinting at the sounds they’d move toward. The vocals harmonize like the Everly’s but with more of an edge, a bit more raw. I can dig it.
  4. On the other hand, these are not exactly the Beatles’ finest or most popular tunes. Almost half of the songs here are covers (many very good!), and the only true classic original here is McCartney’s “All My Loving.” It doesn’t do much to change my view of the Beatles as songwriters.
  5. But there are hints. “It Won’t Be Long” is a great opening track. “I Wanna Be Your Man” is a lyrical joke, but the guitar and drums overcome it. There is indeed something here. It doesn’t explain Beatlemania to me, but I suspect this won’t be the last opportunity for me to expand my appreciation.

One Essential Song:

Listen on Spotify:

--

--

Brian Braunlich
1001 Album Project

Figuring it out in San Francisco. Believer in the good.