55. The Beatles — Rubber Soul (1965)

Brian Braunlich
1001 Album Project
Published in
2 min readMay 19, 2020
Far out
  1. Here we have the third Beatles album in the 1001, and we’re a step closer to something great, though my aforementioned reservations continue to hold me back. Here we have the Beatles legitimately branching out in ways I haven’t really heard from pop music in the list thus far, and I appreciate that. The lyrics on these tunes are conflicted, anxious, at times quite dark. The music incorporates world sounds, new instruments, interesting shifts. It’s closer to greatness, but it’s still somewhat lacking for me.
  2. The album opens incredibly strongly; “Drive My Car” rocks, and “Norwegian Wood” is the most interesting thing the Beatles had recorded to this point, filled with sitar, driven by a stunningly gorgeous melody. “You Won’t See Me” and “Nowhere Man” maintain the momentum; and I can’t imagine being a teeny bopper hearing “Think For Yourself” for the first time. It’s a great start to the album.
  3. Rubber Soul ends on a great note as well, beginning with “Girl” and its is-that-a-joint-puff in the chorus. “I’m Looking Through You” may actually be the best version of a Beatles folk rock song possible; “In My Life” is nostalgic and a perfect pairing of sound, melody, and lyrics. The album ends on an unbelievably bleak, arguably problematically threatening note. These are not the Beatles we met with Meet the Beatles.
  4. It’s really just the middle section that drags, and here I must recognize that my opinion does not appear to fit the general consensus. “Michelle” was the most popular song on the album in 1965, and remains one of the most played on Spotify, but I think it’s dreck. I can recognize how “The Word” may have helped usher in the Summer of Love, but I can’t hear it without wincing. I think it’s cute to hear the Beatles aim for a rockabilly/country sound with “What Goes On,” but it’s not a particularly good song. Am I being too much of a perfectionist? I don’t think so. I’m frankly looking for a chance at an “a-ha!” moment with the Beatles, and I still haven’t had it. This is a good album, probably the best they’ve had in the list thus far. I’m not sure I’ll listen to it again anytime soon.
  5. On a separate note, it is neat to read about some of these acts listening to and challenging each other. The Beatles upped their lyrics game as a direct result of Bob Dylan’s output. The Beatles calling this album Rubber Soul was a direct affront to the Rolling Stones. Brian Love wrote Pet Sounds actively trying to one-up Rubber Soul. This is the way pop music explodes.

One Essential Song:

Listen on Spotify:

--

--

Brian Braunlich
1001 Album Project

Figuring it out in San Francisco. Believer in the good.