67. The Mamas And The Papas — If You Can Believe Your Eyes And Ears (1966)

Brian Braunlich
1001 Album Project
Published in
2 min readJun 17, 2020
tub time!
  1. I think I always dismissed The Mamas And The Papas a bit as a soft rock oldie group, but especially listening to a whole album of their songs, 67 albums in, I’ve developed a new appreciation. The blend of male and female harmonic vocals is really lovely; a tune like “Straight Shooter” has a very Beatles sound, but the twist of the female vocals really gives it an extra kick. Their cover of “Do You Wanna Dance” is a fresh rejoinder to the Beach Boys’ original; where the Boys were hopping and bopping, the Mamas And Papas want to slow dance. The album never really loses steam as it chugs along.
  2. The centerpiece, of course, is “California Dreamin’,” a song that gets better and better as time goes by. This song has more edge than I recall for a tune with a flute solo as its centerpiece; when John Phillips gets into it, he really growls out the tune. I know I just called “Monk Time” the ultimate mission statement, but “California Dreamin’” is just as good, as masters thesis for a quintessential 60s California band.
  3. I’m impressed how many different genres TMATP hit on here, from rockabilly to folk to country to rock to doo-wop. All that, from a group that formed and found itself in the Virgin Islands, which I can’t imagine was a bastion of music at the time.
  4. Just a brief note: Mama Cass Elliot’s life was quite the tragedy. Almost rejected from the band because of concerns about her weight, struggles with obesity and heroin abuse, dead at 32 the night she called a friend expressing how happy she was. A killer voice, a unique individual. I’m not sure if we’ll get more of Cass or TMATP’s in this list, but I’m grateful this album made it.

One Essential Song:

Listen on Spotify:

--

--

Brian Braunlich
1001 Album Project

Figuring it out in San Francisco. Believer in the good.