68. Paul Revere & The Raiders — Midnight Ride (1966)

Brian Braunlich
1001 Album Project
Published in
2 min readJun 30, 2020
  1. The biggest thing holding me back from burning through this list is maintaining the blog, but I must. I must persist. All my life, I’ve been motivated (able to see the end goal I want to reach and go for it) but not disciplined (able to do the day-in, day-out work it takes to get there). This project is really more about discipline than motivation, to a degree. I must persist.
  2. Albums like Midnight Ride make it tough sometimes. I’ve now listened to this record probably three or four times trying to find something illuminating to say about it, and I just don’t have much. This is a straightforward rocker, a good album, eminently listenable without ever feeling essential. There’s just not that much to say here.
  3. “Kicks,” the album opener featured on the cover, is a banger. “There’s Always Tomorrow” has a great classic british invasion style chorus, and this is a Boise-based band. “I’m Not Your Stepping Stone” is killer.
  4. Ok, I’m listening through for the fourth or whatever time this is, and this album has really grown on me, I guess. The guitar work is generally simple, but really nice. Mark Lindsay’s voice howls when it needs to, softens up at other times, and is generally effective. It’s a pretty good record!
  5. Fun facts: the founder of this band is named Paul Revere Dick. Good luck not chuckling at that. Also: the wikipedia page for the band lists six members and, uh, 28 past members (!!). An impressive achievement!

One Essential Song:

Listen on Spotify:

--

--

Brian Braunlich
1001 Album Project

Figuring it out in San Francisco. Believer in the good.