1001Tracklists Community Newsletter — Episode 004

Fahim
1001Tracklists
Published in
5 min readMay 6, 2020

What’s In This Episode

In this episode we’ll share updates on what the 1001Tracklists team has been up to (including another Virtual Festival!) and a Q&A with two of the top 1001Tracklists users!

1001Tracklists Virtual Festival 2.0

May 8th, 9th, and 10th, 1001Tracklists brings the rave into your living room once again! With the help of 40+ incredible artists, the electronic music community will unite for an entire weekend online. Featuring sets from a diverse range of artists, there’s something for everyone, and the weekend promises new music, good vibes, and uplifting spirits for all!

Each day the music will kick off at 8am EST // 2pm CET and will run for 13+ hours. You can catch the sets streaming on our Twitch @1001tracklists!

RSVP here so you don’t miss out when we go live!

Team & Product Updates

Songstats Development Update

It’s been a busy month for Songstats! After the launch at the beginning of the month, there’s been a surge of people checking out the platform and enjoying all that a subscription offers. We’ve received lots of positive feedback and also great feature requests, and we’re excited to announce that we’re about to release an update containing the most requested data integration — Deezer! Some more goodies will also be included in the next major update.

Additionally, Songstats has been making waves in the press, with coverage from Music Ally, Music Tech, DJ Mag, We Rave You and many more outlets!

For more information, visit www.songstats.com.

An Introduction To Songstats — By Moon Jelly

We’ve partnered with Moon Jelly to present a Songstats course! The course provides an in-depth look into how any artist or music professional can leverage Songstats data to drive strategy. Check it out here!

Team Update

Evan & Oskar from the 1001 team participated in the first edition of Get Wired, a virtual conference hosted by Wired Music Week. Evan moderated a panel discussing label deals vs. independent releases, in which Oskar was one of the panelists. Later in the month, Evan hosted a masterclass for teammbl.com, a website for producers founded by producer & DJ musicbyLUKAS. It offers artists valuable resources like an online music school where they can work with top professionals!

Around The Community

Enjoy a Q&A with two of the top users on 1001Tracklists, sndvl (Colombia) & ewwcolton (United States)!

Who were the first artists that got you into dance/electronic music?

sndvl: The first artists that made me dive into electronic were Swedish House Mafia and Armin van Buuren during the EDM explosion in 2013, but some others like Blasterjaxx and W&W made me start to explore the subgenres and styles in electronic music.

ewwcolton: In the 2000s I came across artists like Daft Punk, Thievery Corporation, Pretty Lights, deadmau5, and Tiësto, but electronic music didn’t really become my primary listening until that dubstep boom in 2011. At that point I spent a few years enjoying mainstage artists, but I personally like to recognize the first artists that got me into the types of electronic music I regularly listen to today. Eric Prydz was the first to play that role, but Dixon, Lane 8’s mixtapes, and Pete Tong’s Essential Mix all aided in the discovery of the artists and genres in my current rotation.

sndvl (Colombia)

What do you like to do when you’re not listening to music or tracklisting on the site?

sndvl: I like to play video games, spend time with my wife and daughter, and I’m also a fan of stand-up comedy so I like to watch some sketches in my spare time.

ewwcolton: In quarantine I’ve defaulted back to Halo 3 with some friends, but in a normal environment I enjoy checking out the various breweries and food trucks around Austin. On top of that, I’m fairly involved in the local electronic scene, and on the weekends I transition my tracklisting and music consumption from the computer to live club environments.

ewwcolton (USA)

Who are 3 artists you want to see at one show after the virus situation is over?

sndvl: I would like to see Kryder b2b Cato Anaya of course! And also there are artists like Curbi and SWACQ that are gaining really good attention because of their energetic sets so I wonder what their gigs would be like.

ewwcolton: Mira, Keinemusik, and Patrice Bäumel would be the perfect lineup for me, flowing well stylistically while accurately representing my musical preferences. Mira holds the title of my favorite artist I’ve yet to see live, and I intended to see her in New York before this virus decided it had other plans. Keinemusik might be cheating a bit with all four members being talented artists in their own rights, but they own one of my favorite labels and definitely should be represented at this hypothetical show. Finally, Patrice Bäumel has the best blend of progressive house and techno for my taste, and his versatility would make him the perfect artist to close out this three-artist lineup.

That’s it for this month! Stay tuned for the next edition on Monday, June 1st. If there’s anything that you’d like to see in our newsletter, please feel free to leave us feedback! [Go to feedback form]

— The 1001Tracklists Team

--

--