1001Tracklists Community Newsletter — Episode 017

Fahim
1001Tracklists
Published in
6 min readJun 7, 2021

In the last 4 weeks, the top 5 tracks that have dominated DJ sets are from Matt Nash, ASCO & Nicola Fasano, Leandro Da Silva & Mr. Sid & Al Sharif, Jack Wins & Joe Stone, and David Guetta & MORTEN. Listen to the full top 50 on Spotify here.

In our Exclusive Mix series this month, we featured ID loaded sets from Chemical Surf, Martin Ikin b2b Biscits, Justus, Cheyenne Giles, Fedde Le Grand, KOROLOVA, and Cato Anaya b2b Allan Piziano live from a hot air balloon! Listen back to their sets here.

We also brought in artists on the rise like Vol2Cat, Holly T & Phazes, Dave Winnel, Francis Mercier, Felix Kröcher, and Nightlapse for our Spotlight Mix series! Listen back to their sets here.

On the 1001Tracklists side, we’ve introduced an updated design!

Our product update also includes new features like Dark Mode and Infinite Scroll functionality. This update has been in the works for a while and changes the underlying foundation through which 1001Tracklists is being displayed.

With a complete overhaul of the front-end code, 1001Tracklists has been brought up to speed using newer technologies which allow for a more dynamic and faster-loading site. We’ve received really positive feedback about the design update, and also some requests for small tweaks, many of which we were able to quickly address! You can read more about our design upgrade here.

On the Songstats side of the house, we’ve added a couple of interesting new Spotify metricsto the platform, Global Rank and Radio likes.

Over at the Songstats Lab, we published part two of our interview with Zach Jaffe from Beatport, covering how to get featured on the store. We also interviewed two of our customers, mau5trap and Tarsier Records, to dive into campaign strategies from different parts of the world.

Sponsored Content

Enjoy a Q&A with two members of the 1001Tracklists user community, OlindoCaso & gomezzin!

OlindoCaso (Spain)

If you could go see any three artists perform right now, who would you choose, and why?

OlindoCaso: This one’s a really good question but also a difficult one, there’s so much talent out there right now!

If I had to choose three artists, I’d love to see Prospa as they are the act that’s actually bringing some of the euphoria, nostalgia and excitement that was needed in the rave scene. Porter Robinson would be the second one, since I’ve been a massive fan for years of his productions and his new album and live-show concept are something of their own. And last but not least, Amtrac, an amazing producer and always delivering the most emotional tracks out there.

gomezzin: I would have to choose XiJaro & Pitch and Yoshi & Razner, who brought me so many goosebumps (even tears of joy!) and made me enjoy uplifting trance so much during these past months. They are both immensely talented, and I can’t stop listening to their sets on Twitch. They are both working very hard these months to grow in the trance scene. I wish them a lot of success in the upcoming years, it will be well deserved.

Another artist I have always wanted to see but I haven’t had the chance to see him performing live is RAM. The melodies he creates resonate in my mind and bring me so much joy. I hope I can see one of his sets someday (Luminosity 2022 would be a dream, honestly).

gomezzin (Spain)

When did you first get into dance/electronic music and what was it that got you hooked?

OlindoCaso: The first time I actually fell in love with dance music was in 2010. I was a massive fan of Gorillaz back then and I remember their album Plastic Beach had just been released. One day I was just browsing the songs as usual on YouTube when I suddenly found AN21 and Max Vangeli’s remix of “On Melancholy Hill,” and that was when I got absolutely hooked.

From there i just started crate digging Size Records, mau5trap, Axtone and artists like Daft Punk, Wolfgang Gartner, Tommy Trash, Kryder (whom I now have the pleasure to work) amongst others, and became a huge fan of dance music and tons of its subgenres. What got me hooked back then were the sounds, it was something I never really paid attention to until that point and a whole new world of musical diversity opened in front of my eyes and ears.

gomezzin: When I was just a teenager, I remember listening to Ferry Corsten, Ian van Dahl, Cascada, Scooter, Milk Inc, Gigi D’Agostino, ATB, Lasgo, and Sash.

By then, I started going to my first discotheques and going out every weekend, so I have great memories from this time. These artists planted the seed to my music taste, and since then I have been a trance enthusiast who enjoys different kinds of trance (mainly uplifting, vocal or orchestral).

I believe that the trance community is one of the most charming communities — they are always collaborating, and sharing love through music around the world.

What’s your favorite part about using 1001Tracklists and being a part of the active user community?

OlindoCaso: The experience of discovering new music each and everyday, whether it is by making tracklists or by checking many of the daily uploaded shows and livestreams. It’s an incredible gift that we have this community for us to share our love for this music.

gomezzin: Before I had a 1001Tracklists account, I used to have a look around the website to know what other DJs were playing in their sets, and discover new tracks. Now that I can create tracklists myself, I feel proud to be part of the 1001Tracklists community.

I joined fewer than six months ago, and I try to contribute as much as I can because my favourite part of posting the tracklists is that I can “share” the DJs’ talent to let other people know about them, so they can enjoy their music as well. Sharing music with people is one of the most enriching experiences in my opinion. I enjoy festivals and events so much, which always enables me to know more people and have even more fun together.

Hope you enjoyed this episode! Stay tuned for the next Community Newsletter on Monday, July 5th. You can always reach us at team@1001tracklists.com or by leaving a comment on our Medium.

— The 1001Tracklists Team

--

--