1001Tracklists Community Newsletter — Episode 032

Fahim
1001Tracklists
Published in
6 min readSep 8, 2022

The top 5 tracks dominating DJ sets in the last 4 weeks are from David Guetta x Benny Benassi, Fred Again.. & Swedish House Mafia ft. Future, Nicky Romero & EDX, Anyma & Chris Avantgarde x Eric Prydz, and Mau P. Listen to the full top 50 on Spotify here.

This month we featured big Exclusive Mixes from J. Worra, Maxim Lany, R3hab, Mau P, and Like Mike! Listen back to these mixes and more here.

1001Tracklists returns for its third ever Amsterdam Dance Event showcase, bringing together artists from the Top 101 Producers rankings as well as Future Of Dance selections for a night of new music, celebration, and community. Taking things up another level in 2022, 1001Tracklists has partnered with fan engagement platform, Corite, to create 1/1 NFT trophies for this year’s artists, as well as unique giveaways for attendees of the intimate showcase!

On Thursday, October 20th, artists from the Top 101 Producers rankings, Future Of Dance selections, as well as superfans and industry colleagues will unite for a night of new music, celebration, and community. Held at the Room Mate Aitana Hotel, attendees can expect ID-loaded sets from announced artists and special guests alike, while those who aren’t in Amsterdam this year need not worry, as the event will come straight into your living room via the worldwide live stream.

RSVP for the ADE event here!

On the Songstats side, we’ve added Facebook and Instagram authorizations as Data Integrations, enabling us to import valuable new insights like your audience demographics, follower locations, impressions and engagement rate.

Enjoy a Q&A with two users from our community, cyx_ and Yamamoto!

cyx_

When did you first discover 1001Tracklists, and what made you want to start contributing to the platform?

cyx_: I first discovered 1001 in early 2022 after I found out that Virtual Self (Porter Robinson) had once played a track (“Eternal Ending”) by Kobaryo, a Japanese speedcore artist, in one of his sets. I had recently become interested in J-Core and the label HARDCORE TANO*C, and I don’t remember exactly how I found out, but I thought it was cool that such a well known artist had played such a song. So I went to look for when and where he played it and eventually came across 1001Tracklists.

I started contributing because I felt it would be helpful to lots of people (including myself), and also I saw that a lot of sets from smaller artists I enjoyed listening to were not yet on 1001.

Yamamoto: Since around 2016, I’ve been listening to a lot of dance music starting with Avicii, Marshmello, David Guetta and Martin Garrix. I became a big fan of Martin Garrix, Afrojack, and DubVision from watching their live sets on YouTube (like Tomorrowland and Ultra Music Festival). I was curious about the details of tracks & mashups played by them, so I started using 1001Tracklists frequently around 2019. I was hooked on using this site, and now it’s still like that.

1001Tracklists is a useful tool to easily check the archives of artists’ past live performances at any time, and it’s a unique service. Sometimes I’ll find an incorrect track or mashup, especially in the sets from the artists I’ve mentioned, and I contribute to the site to improve the quality of the tracklists.

I also focused on the wonderful live sets, club shows and events held in Japan which were not already on 1001Tracklists. I thought that publishing tracklists for those events might be an opportunity for many Japanese dance music fans to know how wonderful and magnificent 1001Tracklists is.

What’s your favorite genre of music? Who are some of your favorite artists in this genre and why do they stand out to you?

cyx_: At the moment it’s hardstyle, specifically euphoric hardstyle (and especially from a few years ago and before). I love the combination of epic melody and hard-hitting kickdrum. Some of my favorite artists include Cyber, Sylence, Adrenalize and Solstice. Their melodies, kicks, and general atmosphere in tracks are very enjoyable to me.

Yamamoto: Thanks to Martin Garrix, Afrojack, and DubVision, I fell in love with dance music. From 2015 to 2019, Martin Garrix released so much great music. And Afrojack will develop a DJ set that will make you dance involuntarily through tons of fascinating mashups. And DubVision tracks are always beautiful.

Due to Covid it became difficult to go to festivals and clubs, and when the so-called EDM era started to fade away, I became addicted to house, deep house, tech house, and piano house. I became seriously addicted to house music from MK’s Creamfields performance in 2019. Recently I’ve also started listening to melodic techno from Tale Of Us.

And finally, KREAM. I learned about the Norwegian brothers through the mix series called LIQUID : LAB, which they published on YouTube throughout Covid. Shortly after I started listening to house music, this series and the blend of mashups that they played really connected with me. I was amazed at how well they made their mashups and how seamlessly they mixed them. I also discovered the wonderful artists Kapera, Maur, and Solardo through their LIQUID : LAB series.

Yamamoto

If you could go to any festival or event around the world, what would you choose, and why?

cyx_: I would probably go to Defqon.1 just because it’s the biggest hardstyle event with tons of artists and different styles. But I would probably go inside a time machine if I could and travel back to at least a few years ago when there were seemingly more active euphoric artists, and more artists in general using older-style ‘crunchy’ kicks since few artists seem to do so nowadays. I think I’d also like the now-discontinued B2S Euphoria event, but that is on a much much smaller scale.

Yamamoto: I’m still curious about the many parties held at Miami Music Week including Ultra, and of course Tomorrowland. For clubs, I would like to visit a number of clubs in Ibiza and Printworks in the UK. However, Printworks will close soon and I don’t have much time, but I would like to go there if I have a chance!

Hope you enjoyed this episode! Stay tuned for the next Community Newsletter on Monday, October 3rd. You can always reach us at team@1001tracklists.com or by leaving a comment on our Medium.

— The 1001Tracklists Team

--

--