1001Tracklists Community Newsletter — Episode 040

Fahim
1001Tracklists
Published in
4 min readJul 20, 2023

The top 5 tracks dominating DJ sets in the last 4 weeks are from Peggy Gou, FISHER & Aatig, Steve Angello & Wh0, Tiësto, and Grimes & Anyma.Listen to the full top 50 on Spotify here.

This month we sat down with W&W to discuss their ID-loaded Ultra Europe set, took a trip to Molo Thor Heyerdahl in Andora with Sol Novaro & VLLN, chatted with Macon about his HYPERTECHNO sound that’s taking the dance world by storm, and much more! Read more in our Stories section here.

This month we’re joined by 1001Tracklists members DanielK & tocco_scuro for a special interview!

1001Tracklists member DanielK

When did you first discover 1001Tracklists, and what made you want to start contributing to the platform?

DanielK: That was probably in 2010 or 2011. I was looking for a worldwide electronic music community. I found this website as well as the Digitally Imported radio forum.

Why am I contributing to the platform? I saw that many tracklists of my favorite sets had tracks which weren’t revealed yet. I wanted to leave my mark on these tracklists by revealing the tracks. After a few months, creating tracklists for specific radio shows and artists became even more enjoyable for me.

toccu_scuro: I discovered 1001Tracklists in 2015, when I was looking for tracklists for livesets or podcasts. I joined the website because I wanted to share my knowledge of electronic music. And in my opinion it’s a lot of fun working and sharing all of these tracklists.

1001Tracklists member toccu_scuro

What’s your favorite genre of music? Who are some of your favorite artists in this genre and why do they stand out to you?

DanielK: I am open to almost every genre of music (expect k-pop, lol). I slowly started listening to electronic music around 20 years ago. My brother was listening to ATB, Cosmic Gate and Kai Tracid. I do remember some tracks from video games like GTA3, Need for Speed or FIFA. Then I discovered Hands-up music (Ramon Zenker, the king). I still love to listen to these tracks from that era. Since 2008 I have been more addicted to trance, house and techno than any other music genre. I have many favorite artists in these genres like Above & Beyond, Ben Böhmer, Daxson, Ferry Corsten, Markus Schulz, Amy Wiles, Nifra and Pretty Pink (girl power!). I love hunting for exclusive edits and rare tracks that these DJs play in their sets.

toccu_scuro: Previously my favorite genre of music was trance, back in the 2000s. But then over time I got really into techno and tech house, and nowadays I prefer DJs like Carl Cox, Dubfire, UMEK or Joris Voorn. Their music and sets are so energetic and put you in a good mood.

If you could go to any festival or event around the world, what would you choose, and why?

DanielK: I was lucky to attend many festivals like Dreamstate, Transmission and Mayday. EDC Las Vegas and Groove Cruise Miami would be a dream to me. For a club show, since I became a fan of Markus Schulz I still have a dream to attend one of his shows at Stereo, Montreal or Avalon in Los Angeles on New Year’s Eve. Sadly The Guvernment in Toronto closed a few years ago. Also it would be great to see Gabriel & Dresden’s classics show somewhere in the future. I love the combination of classic trance and house in their shows.

toccu_scuro: I prefer going to clubs, but if I’m choosing a festival then it will be the Ultra Music Festival in Miami. It’s been around for more than 20 years, you can find the best DJs in the world there, and the live sets are stunning and powerful.

Hope you enjoyed this episode! Stay tuned for the next Community Newsletter in August. You can always reach us at team@1001tracklists.com or by leaving a comment on our Medium.

— The 1001Tracklists Team

--

--