100DaysUI — 004: I Don’t Like Neumorphism

Hanan A.S.
100daysUIDesign
Published in
1 min readJan 8, 2020
old times, good times

Remember when buttons looked like buttons?

Day 4 is me fighting the new (& ugly, imo 🙄) Neumorphism with the old and good Skeuomorphism.

An ode to old times.

No, really I think Skeuomorphic elements are better for usability

I think that elements that look similar to their real life parallels are better, usability wise; users don’t have to guess what that suspicious rectangle on the screen does. Especially users who are unable to keep up with all the new design trends. Have mercy on them.

I’m not hating on flat design here. Flat design is awesome, less work for designers. But even as a designer I have to admit that continuing to change design patterns, especially when the new ones do not reflect anything from real life, is going to annoy users.

at least it’s my opinion.

can someone explain why Neumorphism is so popular? what do you as a designer like about it? what do you think it adds to a user experience?

--

--

Hanan A.S.
100daysUIDesign

What remains of a Human Female. Digital Product Designer. Bookworm.