#11: Character handicaps in the biggest game of all

A Chronic Voice
#100WritingDays
Published in
2 min readMar 24, 2017
Every single person in the world has their own set of strengths and flaws.

If you’ve ever played a strategy game, you will know that sometimes you can select handicaps for your characters. Even if you can’t, every character has his or her pros and cons, and we all have our go-to favourites. You choose them because they suit your playing style, and you can relate to their abilities. You also don’t like dealing with the cons of other characters. It kind of struck me the other day that real life is a little like that. Or rather, characters possess real life traits in a distilled form.

My chronic illnesses are big character handicaps, but I also have my plus points. I just need to find the right partner to win in this game of life. Someone who places value on my abilities over my flaws, and sees my full potential. Every other character is not the same; they just don’t ‘feel right’.

This concept applies to each of us on all levels of relationships, be it platonic or romantic, sick or well. Every single person in the world has their own set of strengths and flaws. It’s about maximising our potential. That’s what strategy is about, and life is the biggest game of all. Some levels can get frustrating, but it can also be lots of fun, and advancing to the next stage is exhilarating. Let’s try to have fun and enjoy it a little, too!

Find me on:
www.achronicvoice.com
Facebook
Twitter
Instagram
Pinterest

If you like this article, please click on the ‘heart’ below. It will help others to find this post more easily. Thank you very much for your support!

--

--

A Chronic Voice
#100WritingDays

Articulating lifelong illness through various perspectives.