#17: Milestone thoughts

A Chronic Voice
#100WritingDays
Published in
3 min readApr 18, 2017
A quick reflection on 17 of 100 writing days. (And cheating for progress ;)).

Thought I’d write a quick post in reflection of this project so far. This is only the 17th post out of 100, but I am actually feeling the strain already! Here’s what I’ve learned about writing, and also about myself, at milestone 17:

  1. I am Not as Creative as I Think I am
    I have a notepad with around 200 post ideas in it, so I thought I wouldn’t have a problem writing 100 short essays. But it can still be difficult to flesh them out into a meaningful and cohesive piece. Many of the ideas are still in their infant stage, and require more thought to grow. I am also not as versatile or prolific as I think I am. Many of the ideas revolve around the same thoughts or themes, but repackaged with different tags.
  2. I Write Very Slowly
    I asked my sister (who used to write for a living) how many 500 to 700 word articles she could write per day, and it shocked me. She could write three to four in a day, while I feel fatigued from writing and editting one post every two days. This is all the more reason to continue this writing exercise!
  3. I Worry About the Same Things on Repeat
    “Should I write about this or that first?” “Should I save this topic for my own blog, or ‘waste’ it on a Medium experiment?” But hey, if I want to do a real experiment on Medium, then I need to give it my best shot, too. Otherwise, how will the comparison be fair? I can always go back and revamp the piece, or rewrite it from a different angle. I am also a process-oriented person, and track the little details for every project. This slows me down, and adds unnecessary red tape. I will strip myself of these burdens; that extra bit of time can be better utilised for actual writing.
  4. Writing is a Practice in Embarrassing Yourself
    Many of the essays I’ve written so far have been very personal. I am embarrassed to post many of them, but I believe that that is what it means to be a writer. To tap into the essence of our humanity, so as to reach out to others with sincerity. I like editting my articles a little too much, because I want all loopholes sealed. I wipe away traces of ‘dirty’ revelations, but being too clinical is never exciting or inspiring.
  5. I Have a Long Way to Go
    I’m already struggling with topics at #17, and there are 83 pieces left to go! But as with most things, it tends to get easier once past the halfway mark. I’ll let you know when I’m there ;)
  6. Moving Forward
    Focus is the name of the game. I am free to feel my despair, depression, anxiety, lack of refinement, etc all I want. But write. And write some more, until it’s done. That is the purpose of this project. Also, I realise that it’s actually more than just a writing project; it is also an exercise in questioning and improving my daily habits and lifestyle. The many different thoughts we have and actions we take, are always networking in our brains. Everything is always connected, even if you aren’t aware of the ‘how’. Another thing I might try is to write using themes. This might be helpful in generating more pieces, and would also make for some great mental exploration.

Until the next piece!

Find me on:
www.achronicvoice.com
Facebook
Twitter
Instagram
Pinterest

If you enjoyed this article, please click on the ‘heart’ below. It will help others to find this post. Thank you very much for your support!

--

--

A Chronic Voice
#100WritingDays

Articulating lifelong illness through various perspectives.