#18: House moving: mental test in disguise

A Chronic Voice
#100WritingDays
Published in
3 min readApr 28, 2017
Lying in bed while watching my partner buzz about like a bee. And thoughts on what it means to be a successful human being.

I have been pretty slack on this project of late, as we’ve been busy with house moving. While it wasn’t as stressful as I had imagined it to be, I had less rest time as usual. We took our time to transport our possessions via luggage bags over the course of a week. This is simple enough for the average person, but I usually need a day of rest for every day I step out of the house. Yes, stepping out of the house for two hours is an active day for me. I schedule spaces between appointments whenever possible, but there was none for these two weeks.

My partner was and is a gracious person. He did 80% of the work even though he still had a nine to five job. But even helping out a mere 20% proved taxing for my body, as I was out of action for the next two weeks. I wasn’t even doing the heavy lifting or strenuous chores! I handled most of the communication and appointments, and made those evening luggage transfers with my partner. That was it, nothing much at all. I suppose being in the midst of medicine changes and having my period didn’t help either. I tried not to feel bad about it, but I admit to feeling disappointed that I couldn’t even handle such minor tasks. And I wasn’t even that unwell to begin with. I mean, I have been in worse physical conditions before. It was a more trying time for me than my partner — he didn’t seem stressed and didn’t blame me in the slightest ;)

So there I was, lying in bed watching him buzz about like a bee. Dismantling heavy shelves, mopping up, scrubbing the tub. Ever so often the crunchy sound of pulled packing tape would fill the air, as he sealed another box. While I have accepted that I will always be weaker than most people, and that I have less to offer in a physical capacity, I didn’t feel any better. My limited limits were even less than what I had imagined for myself! Have I become so soft and weak? Have I become too dependent and reliant? Is my endurance level no longer existent? To sum it up, the whole moving experience was a mental exercise as much as it was a physical one.

Unfortunately I don’t have anything insightful for you here, on how I could have handled it better. The thing is, both you and I already know that stress never did anyone any good. The many self-care articles I’ve read didn’t make me feel any better. I knew what the right response is in my head, yet my heart couldn’t help but feel fear, anxiety, worry and guilt.

Now that things have settled down a little, I realise that the medications I was changing did play a role. But I have also strayed from a certain practice, and need to find my way to the right path (yet again!). The concept of being kind is simple, yet I find it difficult to do. Both towards others, and also myself. I am very black and white, and quick to judge. This impacts human relationships because I shut the doors too quickly. It is also toxic for my own wellbeing. I will explore the concept of ‘kindness’ in another post, but I believe that the key to being a successful human being lies therein.

Find me on:
www.achronicvoice.com
Facebook
Twitter
Instagram
Pinterest

If you enjoyed this article, please click on the ‘heart’ below. It will help others to find this post. Thank you very much for your support!

--

--

A Chronic Voice
#100WritingDays

Articulating lifelong illness through various perspectives.