How I am dealing with depression

just a simplification of a complex moment for me

Sah. V. Lasso
101 relationships lessons
2 min readFeb 5, 2018

--

picture from StockSnap

Until last year, I was “depression free”…but eventually I “meet” depression and it was hard.

I guess it is very personal and each person feels it different. For me it was beyond sadness, it was a lack of everything: I just wanted to stay in bed, was not in the mood to eat, did not want to talk to anyone…

It was like if I did not had any energy inside me and I didn´t know what to do to recharge myself ( and was not in the mood to figure it out).

It was like if I created an invisible isolation bubble.

For several reasons, I started slowly to “let the world” in by doing small steps, like:

  • read Medium
  • write what I was feeling
  • therapy on the app
  • dancing classes
  • talking to some close friends
  • talking to family

Once you are used to live in your “isolation bubble” it is so hard to let other people in, it is almost painful and I was afraid of being judged by others ( I was already being so much judged by myself).

It was hard but also really important to let people in, to let people show that they loved me, they cared for me and they were here not matter what. Sometimes, just knowing that I had a friend to talk helped me to feel better and feel loved.

But there small steps helped me to get better in my social life and improve my work a bit.

I believe that every small step helps, it is a movement forward, its grow.

For course, this is just a simplification of the complex moment of my life that unfortunately I cannot say that it went away, it is still with me.

I guess, like everything in life, it takes time to learn how to deal with things like depression, since it is not like a flu or just a bad mood day, but the important is to let people in the bubble and realize how many people are around us ( at least this was crucial for me).

--

--

Sah. V. Lasso
101 relationships lessons

Curious and focused as a cat with a laser. Expert in jumping out from the comfort zone by doing things I´m not good at! Publishing here since Sep 20, 2017.