PtiteAngele

NFTAndMore Magazine
10plus Questions To A NFT
6 min readJun 22, 2022

The NFT artist PtiteAngele has studied graphic design from 2001 to 2004. After that she had some jobs until she started working as a freelancer.

She is currently visible on Twitter through her awesome women’s profiles, but has a very wide range of art in store.

Links:

https://twitter.com/PtiteAngele

https://www.instagram.com/m.angie.1982/

https://app.orica.io/user/angiemathot?type=NFTs&filter=CREATED

https://rarible.com/angiemathot/

https://opensea.io/Angie_Mathot

https://makersplace.com/angiemathot/

https://foundation.app/@AngieMathot

https://superrare.com/angie_mathot

Tell us something about yourself. How did you get into art?

I am a graphic designer and I got into my field of study initially because of my affinities with art. I have been holding a pencil in my hand and doodling for as long as I can remember.

It’s always been a passion of mine, something that made me happy and on which I’ve spent a lot of time perfecting my craft.

Graphic design has been a big influence for how I draw today.

How did you find your way to the NFT space and when did you join?

In 2020, some Twitter friends recommended me to mint some of my work, saying it really had something, so I learned about NFTs and started minting art early 2021.

What three people have inspired/influenced you?

Malika Favre (https://www.malikafavre.com/) has been a big influence, I love what she does with vectors, she conveys very powerful messages with very little means and that’s really amazing.

I also have a lot of admiration for Mark Ryden (www.markryden.com/) and how he developed this beautiful style that is his. The drawings look so innocent but upon checking closely, you can see how crazy (quite literally) some of the details are.

Lastly, a big source of inspiration are my fellow artists doing NFTs, there are so many amazing people who have some good things going, and I suppose this is a big motivation to keep on getting better at what you do.

What is your motto in life?

If it’s to be, it’s up to me: nothing will come out of the blue, I’ll need to be working for it, quite evidently.

With which characteristics would you describe your art?

  • minimalistic (less is always more)
  • colourful
  • crisp
  • precise
  • symetrical

What tools do you work with?

Been using Adobe Illustrator for the past 20 years and I know it inside out.

What inspires you in your art?

My pains, my joys, my personal life, circumstances, inspiration that’s out of this world…

How much time do you invest in your art per week?

I work on my creations full time.

I often work very long hours, so it can vary to the usual 40 hours a week to much more if I’m on a big project.

How much time do you invest per week in sales, e.g. on Twitter?

I spend at least 2 hours every morning on Twitter, plus some time throughout the day, I’d say at least 21 hours every week. Perhaps more.

How do you go about marketing your art? Are there any tips or tricks?

I believe it is important to be yourself and to tell a story, whether positive or not.

What marketplaces are you in and why those?

SuperRare, it’s one of the first platforms I heard of and the 1st one where I got accepted.

MakersPlace, as I believe curated marketplaces have a little something comforting in regard to what you are buying.

OpenSea, because it’s a nice place with a little bit of everything, and lazy minting is quite convenient.

Foundation, it’s a little up a notch from OpenSea and some collectors fetch art exclusively from there.

I also was on Hic & Nunc while it was up and had a lot of fun selling on the Tezos blockchain.

Do you remember your first sale? Tell us about it.

I do… I had put up a piece without a price, and it got picked up by 888, I was so new to NFTs and so so clueless! Took me a while to discover him and learn about the culture, this was so different from what I knew until then.

What other artists do you like and why?

I like many, too many to list!

Each in their very own style, it is incredible to own work from other creatives, it’s a little bit like having a piece of their soul, I find it magical and inspiring!

I am usually drawn to narratives, styles, colours, subjects… When someone is coherent with all of these, the story can be told beautifully!

Are you a collector yourself?

Yes.

How do you choose the artworks you want to collect?

See previous questions.

What were your 3 biggest challenges?

Understanding what collectors were looking for in artists, it’s not easy when you are from outside this particular circle to sometimes understand where to place your focus when you create.

Understanding all the tools, I was brand new to crypto when I minted my 1st pieces, and there were a few bloopers along the way.

Keeping on creating, as sometimes I work on commissions and it can be for months at a time, it’s important to stay active in the space.

What were the 3 best experiences?

Selling my 1st piece was an incredible moment.

When I sold a couple of NFTs to the same collector, I felt over the Moon. Some collectors really dig your style and they become your best supporters, and even sometimes friends.

Meeting so many incredible artists, it really makes all the hard work worthwhile.

Where do you see yourself in 1 year?

At the top of my game, I work very hard to keep on learning and surpass myself constantly.

How do you see the development in the NFT space since you joined? What was positive, what was negative?

It’s been massive and it’s really going so so fast!

The positive part is how it allows artists to finally sell their art without having to go through galleries, to be so readily available on the market.

On the other hand, there is a lot of gatekeeping, rug pulls etc, you need to watch out where you put your feet and who you entrust with what. It’s important to learn to pick up red flags very quickly, as some mistakes can be quite unforgiving.

Where do you think NFTs will go in 5–10 years?

That’s a good question, technology has so much potential. For evolution, let’s see what we make of it… NFTs could become proof of ownership in real life, for things, and perhaps so much more!

How do you feel about bigger NFT projects?

It depends how well they’re being put together and who is behind them. We’re seeing a lot of weird stuff too.

What is your opinion about the Metaverse?

Time will tell, it was fun while we were all in lockdown, but not sure it can ever replace real life.

Thank you very much for the interview Angie.

--

--

NFTAndMore Magazine
10plus Questions To A NFT

NFT, web3 and Metaverse magazine. Interviews, articles, news, spotlights…