How to Jumpstart Your Productivity in 7 Easy Steps

Proven strategies to get things done.

Gavin Singh
The 10 Second PM

--

Photo by Nick Abrams on Unsplash

“And for those of you without kids, the amount of free time you have is scandalous.” My wife and I smiled in response to the speaker. The topic was spiritual disciplines, and like any new habit, progress occurs by putting in the time. So naturally, a few words on time management came up.

Two kids later, I don’t recall the spiritual disciplines, but that one line has stuck with (haunted) me ever since.

My time is far from ‘scandalous’ now.

When it was, going to the gym was a 2-hour afternoon at LA Fitness. Now, it’s a 40-minute trip to the basement. Home repair used to be an afternoon of YouTube videos, a visit to Lowes, and a cautious repair. Now, it’s 15 minutes and 3 quotes from contractors on Kijiji. I’ve found faster ways of completing tasks and removed many of them off my list.

This new life stage has made me a student of productivity, gratefully consuming new strategies, and gradually implementing them. The following are the key ones that continue to be instrumental in staying on top of my tasks.

1. Prioritize Tasks

Start with figuring out what matters to you. What do you value? What are your goals? If you’ve got many goals…

--

--

Gavin Singh
The 10 Second PM

Product & Program Manager specializing in Big Data and IoT Products & Solutions that deliver business results.