How I Gained Confidence In The Tech World.

Ibikunle Omolara
115Garage
Published in
3 min readNov 10, 2019

A feeling of self-assurance arising from an appreciation of one’s abilities or qualities, this is one of the definitions of confidence given by Google.

Self-Acclaim

Self-esteem and self-confidence must be present in people’s daily lives for them to believe that they can do anything.

Starting my internship at 115Garage a few months ago, My life has drastically changed as I went from being computer illiterate to be computer literate and happy as ever as a web developer.

Members in the Community (115Garage) code much better than me and much faster than me. Up to this point, I am satisfied with the achievements and also making an effort to become better. To be honest, in the professional world, you don’t compare yourself to another, everyone copes with the strengths and weaknesses of their colleagues.

I’ve always wanted to attend Nursing school and become a community nurse and work with the United Nations organizations (WHO, UNICEF), to advocate for global cooperation in response, planning, prevention, preparedness and care that reflects health equity issues among nations.

The community also allowed me to volunteer in training young boys and girls in the urban and rural areas of the country on computer codes via SeedDev which help my esteem level and confidence level that, I have qualities and potential to survive in the tech world.

SeedDev

Starting as a beginner in the tech world there are things you need to thrive;

  1. Be Passionate
  2. Be Curious
  3. Have Mentors
  4. Have a tech Community that Motivates you.

Be Passionate

In tech as a beginner, there must be drive and passion to survive. The potential to influence lives at scale makes me passionate about tech, also the sense that something I create can influence someone across the world now or in the future increases that passion.

Being Curious

Curiosity is a key ingredient of learning. Being inquisitive leads to exploration, investigation, and learning.

Have Mentors

A mentor helps you stay focused and on track in your career through advice, skills development, networking.

Belong to a Community that Motivates you.

As a beginner, you need to belong to a Tech Community that motivates, build your esteem and confidence to survive in the professional world, and the one helps your networking. In my case, 115Garage was that community. belonging to a tech community helps beginners a lot; you have the people who are doing the same as you, who understand the frustration of debugging and have passed through that stage as you. There is always room for learning, growing, networking and collaboration when you have a tech community.

115Garage

Your tech community is the people that understand exactly what is going on and help should you encounter any problem. I learned a lot from my community, they were like my backbone, who made me understand that I can integrate tech and health without dropping any.

Now, I’m a better computer scientist and a web developer, still making an effort to be a professional, and also pursuing the nursing career.

I’m grateful for all the help I’ve received in building up my confidence in the tech world and also in the world at large, and I wish that all my dreams come true.

--

--