How to automate Slack signups

Will Power
12startups
Published in
3 min readJun 14, 2018

If you have ever created a Slack group for a community, you will understand the pain to add new users.

Luckily, there is a real nifty piece of Open Software that you can use to automate the process and make your life simplier.

Introducing Slackin

Public Slack organizations made easy

Getting to grips with Slackin may seem daunting but it is pretty straight forward once you know what do do.

Things you will need are:

  • Your team id i.e XXXXXX.slack.com
  • API token
  • Somewhere to host Slackin

Team ID

Team id is pretty straight forward.

API Token

API token is more difficult. For some reason I always have difficuly finding on Slack where to generate this, so what I have done is save the link. The only place I can find where to generate a token is in Legacy. This cant be correct but it works for me so meh 🤷‍♂. The link can be found below, if there is a more up-to-date version then please let me know

Hosting

This is the fun bit.

You can self-host but you will more than likely have to maintain servers etc & do some DNS shizzle for slackin to be publicly accessible. Ain’t nobody got time for that. 👎

Previously I have also hosted Slackin on Heroku. Some developers rave about Heroku, but I personally don’t the hype. Each to their own though. Some configuration is required, and I will have to admit that I had to Google how to actually get it up and running, but once I did there was no further issue. I do however get annoyed at receiving so many email from Heroku when Dynamo hours are running out (what can I say — I don’t like to pay for things if I don’t have to). Overall IMO not worth the effort. 👎

If you haven’t already checked out Glitch then you are missing out.

For me, it literally blew my mind.

Running Slackin on Glitch is a piece of piss. Honestly it is so straightforward, it is insance.

All you have to do find an existing project using Slackin, remix it, rename it, pop in your team ID and token in the .env file, and bobs your uncle. Like, literally, it will take no more than 58 seconds. And, you have it publicly accessible by my using the {{project}}.glitch.me address.

To help you finding one, use one of mine.

Summary

Use Glitch, its bloody awesome

If you have any questions about using, please let me know.

Please 👏 and share to social networks to get this in front of people who might like the challenge

💪 💪 💪 💪 💪

If you have read this far, let me know if there is anything you want to hear about?

--

--