Shine for Me

#12: The End is Nigh

DiAmaya Dawn
Midnight Mosaic Fiction

--

In the dead of the night, my favourite moment is when she finally turns off her light and goes to bed. I’m lucky the weather is still hot and I can enter her room through her open window. There’s nothing in this world that can compare with the little drops of sweat running down such a delicate neck only to stop at her heaving chest as she sleeps peacefully in her cosy bed.

These little drops, shining, sparkling, reflecting the silver moonlight chased away any desire I had for any other of this world’s shiny things.

I remember the last time I was here because she wanted me to be, not because I sneaked in. I remember when she still loved me. I remember the way her cherry-red lips moved as she mouthed “you are this world’s loveliest warlock and you’re mine. I’m this world’s luckiest witch, and I’ll always be yours.”

Always mine. Ha. Right.

Now I look at her and all my memory can beckon forth is her disgust when she mentioned my name, and her distrust of whatever I tried to tell her. The way she pushed me away and screamed she hated me when I reminded her that I’d always love her. The way she covered her ears when I tried to explain that every wrong thing I did belonged to a long forgotten past, before I even met her.

--

--

DiAmaya Dawn
Midnight Mosaic Fiction

Reader, writer, editor, poet, dancer, music addict. Japanophile, pluviophile and attracted by darkness. Part normal, part Greek. www.diamayadawn.com