Day 1: I am doing (Present Continous)

Akanit Kwangkaew
Self-Study Grammar in Use
1 min readJan 16, 2019

4 cases are considering:

A: At the time of speaking

>>> She is driving. (At the time of speaking/action is not finish)

B: In the middle of doing

>>>‘Where’s Mark ?’ ‘He’s having a shower.’ (not He has a shower)

>>>(at a party) Hello, Jane. Are you enjoying the party? (not Do you enjoy )

* The action is not necessarily happening at the time of speaking

>>> Kate wants to work in Italy, so she’s learning Italian. (but perhaps she isn’t learning Italian at the time of speaking)

C: Periods around now:

today / this week / this year etc.

>>>The company I work for isn’t doing so well this year.

D: Including this verbs:

get / change / become /

increase / rise / fall /

grow / improve / begin /

start

>>> Is your English getting better? (not Does your English get better)

>>> The population of the world is increasing very fast. (not increases)

>>> At first I didn’t like my job, but I’m beginning to enjoy it now, (not I begin)

Note: getting, beginning, eating

--

--