Day 4: I am doing vs I do

Akanit Kwangkaew
Self-Study Grammar in Use
2 min readJan 21, 2019

We use the continuous from for action and happenings that have started but not finished.

But these verbs are not normally used in the present continuous:
like, love, hate, want, need, prefer, know, realise, suppose, mean, understand, believe, remember, belong, fit, contain, consist, seem

>> > Ann doesn’t seem very happy at the moment.

A: Think

>>>I think Mary is Canadian, but I’m not sure. (=What is your opinion)

>>>Nicky is thinking of giving up her job. (=she is considering)

B: He is selfish and He is being selfish

>>>I can’t understand why he’s being so selfish. He isn’t usually like that. (being selfish = behaving selfishly at the moment)

>>>He never thinks about other people. he is very selfish. (not He is being) (= He is selfish generally, not only at the moment)

Note: We use am/is/are bring to say how somebody is behaving. It is not usually possible in other sentences:

>>>It’s hot today. (not It is being hot)

>>>Sarah is very tired. (not is being tired)

C: See /hear /smell /taste

We normally use the present simple (not continuous) with these verbs:

>>> Do you see that man over there? (not Are you seeing)

We often use can + see/hear/smell/taste:

>>> I can here a strange noise. Can you hear it?

D: Look /feel

These verbs can use both the continuous and the simple:

You look well today. / You’re looking well today.

How fo you feel now? / How are you feeling now?

But

I usually feel tired in the morning. (not I’m usually feeling)

--

--