Blurred lines between personal and professional social media

Andrew Kao
Clear as Mud
Published in
1 min readApr 24, 2016

When thinking of a person a with strong social media “game” that I admire and wish to emulate in some aspect, I immediately though of my friend and former colleague Red Gaskell. Red is in charge of Everlane’s social media and can be credited for the company’s strong social media presence and early adoption of platforms such as Facebook Messenger and Snapchat. What’s impressive to me, though, is how aligned his personal social media accounts is to his professional career. As evidenced by his Instagram account, Red has a well curated social media presence with beautiful aesthetics. This lends credibility to his expertise in his profession and industry.

Example posts from Red’s Instagram

As I consider my own use of social media, I’m increasingly understanding that keeping my social media use strictly for private/personal use may be impractical. In this day and age, it’s difficult keeping the boundary between private/personal and public/professional, and I’d like to better leverage my use of social media to demonstrate my expertise in my industry. For me, this doesn’t necessarily translate to beautiful Instagram photos, but perhaps rather posting links and/or writing content relevant to the retail industry. This can help blend my personal social media account with a professional aspect.

--

--