Presidents and the Mysterious “Grandma”

SSM2016
Clear as Mud
Published in
2 min readMar 29, 2016

The last few days of SIP week, I traveled to Washington DC for work. I met with the professor to finalize our research paper. Although most of my days were spent inside the George Mason University building, I did manage to hike around Rock Creek park and with a friend, we strolled through the streets of Adam’s Morgan afterwards.

Suddenly, on the side wall of a Middle Eastern restaurants, we came across an interesting mural, which had the last 11 US presidents in chronological order. There is only one additional person that somehow doesn’t fit the mural — the grandma in the middle. My friend said that according to rumors, it is Dick Chaney. As much as the locals like the “Dick Chaney” idea, it actually is Mama Ayesha, the owner of the Middle Eastern restaurant on whose wall the mural is created.

Lastly, being in DC in spring always exposes one to either cherry blossom or “magnolia blossom”. I, of course, took a walk in the national mall and witnessed the amazing magnolia tree blossom. That’s where one could see tons of people taking selfies or other “facebook-cover” pictures.

--

--