Professor Shields Spotted!

Andrew Kao
Clear as Mud
Published in
1 min readMar 28, 2016

Over Spring break, I was on a Study Tour trip to Cuba and Trinidad and Tobago. Social media use didn’t seem particularly prevalent, especially in Cuba, but most excitedly, I ran into Professor Shields at a bar in Cuba, where he was leading another group of MIT Sloan students. I quickly snapped a photo with him and thought about how powerful social media is. Even in a country like Cuba, I could tell my friends about this celebrity sighting and provide near-instant photo evidence. Perhaps just 10 years earlier, I would have either needed to write an email to a curated list of friends to share the news with, or more likely, wait until I returned home-by which point the news would have been long passed.

--

--