Seemingly Benign Social Media Posts are Still Important to Some

Joe McGovern
Clear as Mud
Published in
2 min readMar 29, 2016

Over Spring Break, I had the opportunity to travel to Cuba with an awesome group of Sloanies. Being the last true “Spring Break” of my life, I wanted to do something both special and memorable, and this trip definitely delivered. The internet connectivity situation down in Cuba was dire, so not much social media viewing, but it was nice to get away and connect with friends.

Such as life, all good things must come to an end and I eventually returned to Boston where I was met with cold temperatures and rain. On the upside, I was able to break out my phone and get back on the internet to see what I missed over the week. As I scrolled through my Facebook newsfeed, one particular post caught my eye. It was not massively trending, but it was picking up momentum amongst my Sloan friends. It was a link to the new and “improved” MIT Sloan website describing the program components (link can be found here: http://mitsloan.mit.edu/mba/program-components/).

An article describing the program components of MIT Sloan is not particularly viral material (it did have that sweet new logo though), but the thing that caught my eye was the picture that came with the article. It was of my good friend Vinit, a fellow Sloan student, writing on the chalkboard. Because it was my buddy being featured, I made sure to click on it and even shared it with a few folks. In fact, the post received several likes and was shared by others. This helps to prove the fact that a seemingly benign article/post can still gain traction and spread across social media, which is why I chose it for this blog post.

--

--