Tory Sheppard
Clear as Mud
Published in
2 min readApr 18, 2016

--

Thoughts on social media in the workplace — expressed through emoji’s

We were asked to use emoji’s to explain what we think of internal social media platforms within the work place. Here are my thoughts expressed through emoji’s and words.

1) Announce company-wide news!

It’s a great way to post the general announcements rather than clogging everyone’s e-mail inboxes. You also limit the reply-all responses from people.

2) Where are all of the people?

As we saw with Slack for Sloan, many people didn’t use it. You often see just a sub-set of vocal people using the new platforms. If people don’t join the platform, then there is less value for each user.

3) When was the last time you checked the social media account?

It’s tough to adapt and regularly check the social media account. I check e-mail, text, Facebook, LinkedIn, Whatsapp, and Instagram. Adding any more things becomes difficult.

4) Oh no! Was it all right that I posted that?

If I’m posting to a work-wide account, I’m going to triple check exactly what I type. The posts become in-authentic and highly filtered. I also worry if I give off a negative impression.

5) This is just a ticking time bomb waiting to explode…

Depending on the sentiment in the work place, I am concerned a disgruntle person will just explode on the social media platform. “No, he didn’t just say that…cringe.”

--

--