Katja Schoenherr
Clear as Mud
Published in
1 min readFeb 16, 2016

--

Tian Tian

I know who he is. Yes, even I who never spends a second on Facebook. We crossed paths one morning, both waking up to a land of powder after the first snowstorm. I had barely opened my eyes, gabbed my phone and read a couple messages when a friend request prompted me to Facebook. There he was, Tian Tian from the Smithsonian’s National Zoo. Sliding, rolling and playing in the softest, imaginable field of snow and I was smiling; reminded of all the snow angles and moments of joy in deep powder.

Was it a coincidence that I saw his video over and over again in all imaginable places? It was even posted on telegram, the unofficial message system for all Sloan Fellows. Why did people share Tian Tian?

He was cute. Everybody felt drawn to the little guy who was purely enjoying life and most of us were reminded of how wonderful winter could actually be. The fact that we all just had woken up to similar conditions helped. Tian Tian was easy to relate to and share.

When was the last time that I shared something on Facebook? So long, that I have to relearn how it is done every single time. I then also question myself whether it has reached the recipient. Well, I shared Tian Tian and social media managed me successfully. By establishing an emotional connection, using triggers and time sensitive material I was aroused and positively influenced which equaled a higher likelihood that I would spread the joy.

--

--