Joe McGovern
Clear as Mud
Published in
3 min readFeb 16, 2016

--

Why do certain advertisements go viral? Because, deep down, we all like a happy ending

I remember vividly where I was when I saw it. I would love to go on and discuss how I witnessed some major event in world history, but the truth is, I’m going to talk about an advertisement for an already well-known company.

It was in October 2013 and I had just gotten home from a long day at work. As a way to decompress, I took out my phone and scrolled through my Facebook newsfeed to see what other people were up to- perhaps someone else had a hectic day like I just did. As I scrolled through, I remember seeing a few posts with captions such as, “check this out” or “this is powerful”, some simply, “wow”. I didn’t bite on the first few, but once I noticed several people posted the same video, I decided to watch it to see what all the fuss was about.

After I clicked, it took me to a 60 second YouTube video titled, “Guiness basketball commercial”. Really? This was what everyone was talking about? A commercial for a beer company? Since it was only a minute of my time (literally), I decided to let it play out. It opens with some flowery music and a group of guys playing wheelchair basketball. As I watched the group wheel around the basketball court, I wondered, how would this connect to beer? Towards the end of the commercial, however, a secret is revealed (in sorts). Five out of the six guys playing do not actually need a wheelchair to move around. They simply stand up and walk out of the gym, alongside of their friend who actually needs the wheelchair. The voiceover mentions friendship and the entire group heads to the bar to grab a Guiness. If you haven’t seen it yet, feel free to join the other 4.8 million folks who have https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Au8Y98Rgxbk

I’ll admit, I was slightly misty eyed after watching it. A quick scroll through the comments section tells me that I wasn’t the only one either. Who can’t appreciate something like that? Friendship, camaraderie, overcoming obstacles. Most pointedly, the video has a happy ending. The commercial is not about the struggles of mobility for all six guys or the tragic story that put them all in a wheelchair. It warms our heart by showing us that a group of friends can come together and find a way to include everyone. It also shows that there is good in this world. Among all the terrible disasters and scandals that usually fill our newsfeeds, there is hope and compassion.

When you illicit an emotional response like that, people are not only wanting to see it, they are also wanting to share it. People enjoyed the plot twist and the pleasant conclusion, and they were eager to discuss it with others. This is one of the reasons why it went viral- the commercial was able to illicit a strong emotional response.

The funny thing is- pretty much the entire story of the advertisement has nothing to do with beer. Yes, I know it was about friendship and it does show the group at the bar in the final eight seconds, but it really had nothing to do with beer. You probably could have swapped in any product, or at least any beer brand, in the end and it would have carried similar results. It had nothing to do with how refreshing and tasty Guiness is. The ad didn’t have to though. All it had to do was get people talking about it- and the best way to do that is to pull the heart strings of viewers and end with happiness and joy.

--

--