7 Questions with George Spasov, Blockchain Architect at 15toGO

15toGO
15toGO
Published in
4 min readAug 24, 2018

Blockchain Architect, at 15toGO, George has experience in leading teams to deliver successful software projects for everyone from startups like pCloud to international companies like IBM. In addition, his blockchain expertise has earned him recognition as a top performer of the inaugural Blockchain Developers Academy run by ConsenSys.

Check his LinkedIn profile

  1. What is your background and why did you join 15toGO?

I’ve been a software developer for 10+ years now and I’ve been part of both startups (pCloud) and bigger corporations (MusalaSoft/IBM/DeutcheBank). For the past year and a half, I have been actively working with Ethereum and advancing in both the Bulgarian and European ecosystem with new tools and decentralized applications. Being part of LimeChain, I’ve been blessed with the opportunity to work with the 15toGО team and contribute to revolutionizing the travel industry.

2. What is your role in the 15toGO team?

As a Blockchain Architect, I am responsible for designing the blockchain infrastructure. This doesn’t necessarily mean they I have to build out and code the blockchain itself. Actually, I am the one who needs to know where all the parts of the puzzle should go. Think of me like an architect of a building — he or she doesn’t have to be a general contractor or a builder, or a carpenter, but they know in theory how everything is structured, in other words, what goes where. The developer and the engineer are interchangeable and even though they may not be the architect, they are the ones that will be involved in the constructive process at the end (which for the developer signifies writing the code).

3. What gets you most excited about the project?

The idea behind 15toGO is something I’ve experienced myself as a fervent traveler who always looks for the right company to go on longer trips with. I strongly believe we are going to change the nature of the industry together! In my opinion, the platform will be incredibly successful, because of the awesome team, which is involved! As a Blockchain Architect, one of the things that excite me the most is being able to create such a fascinating project on the blockchain and incorporate the latest technologies in the process.

4. Which do you think are the main challenges that the project and the team will face?
There are two main challenges for the project. One is the fact that we will be rewarding the customers with tokens. Although we will facilitate this aspect of the platform’s eco-system as much as possible the whole experience of receiving and sending these assets could still be a bit confusing to some of the users. After all, the technology is very new and under development. Scalability and speed of work of the system would be an interesting challenge to conquer. However, I believe that being aware of these challenges is what makes the whole team work even harder in order to make the project successful! As they say — knowing what the problem is, equals for 50% of the solution.

5. Where do you see the project in the next few years?
The whole team is working hard so that 15toGO is adopted by travelers all over the world in the near future! Having in mind that it will be a social booking platform, which is made extremely user-friendly and easy to adopt, I believe that the project will have a great success! Also, making the decision to implement blockchain technology is something that customers and the business will only benefit from! This makes me more than confident that we can achieve the goals we have set ahead of ourselves!

6. How would you describe the atmosphere around 15toGO?
Working with everyone on the team that is so passionate about the project makes everything fun and running smoothly! It is amazing to see how even though we are so different, we all share the passion for changing the landscape of the travel industry!
While working on 15toGO, I discover new things not only about the technology but also about the impact it has on society these days. It is amazing!

7. Tell us one interesting thing about yourself?

One thing that I really love is public speaking! Every time when I prepare myself for an event where I should talk in front of an audience about a certain topic, I ask myself — What it is that I want people to remember from this lecture? Answering this question is a creative process, which often puts me out of my comfort zone and this is where the real work begins.

The 15toGO app is now downloadable both for iOS and Android:
https://15togo.page.link/medium

--

--