Miami Heat Season Review: Hot Takes On A Hot Future

Looking back on a playoffs-less, yet satisfying season for Erik Spoelstra and his team. Not all was lost for the Miami Heat.

Allana Tachauer
16 Wins A Ring
4 min readJun 7, 2017

--

An Overview

2016–17 may have been the Miami’s Heat greatest season to date. The hottest of takes, I know. But hear me out. Don’t close this tab just yet.

Yes, the team finished 41–41, placing ninth in the Eastern Conference. And no, they didn’t make the playoffs, thanks to a technicality of the Chicago Bulls holding the tie-breaker over them.

I’m aware that Dwyane Wade abandoned them. Chris Bosh was again ruled out with a medical condition. President Pat Riley was unable to catch his whale in Kevin Durant.

I realize the roster, mostly comprised of short-term contracts and Developmental League alumni, was constantly riddled with injuries.

And yet, I stand by my initial statement. This past year was wonderful. Because when it was all said and done, the franchise’s winning pedigree still prevailed. Riley continued to show he had not lost his eye for talent. Head coach Erik Spoelstra proved to be elite. And Miami’s unique culture saved a seemingly lost season.

11–30 became 30–11. A star was born in James Johnson. The Heat shook up the league.

Best Of The Best

Despite their rocky start, this ball club ended up recording some pretty memorable moments in 2016–17.

First and foremost was their 13–Okaro winning streak.

But who could forget when Dion Waiters hit one from downtown at the buzzer, handing the Golden State Warriors a L?

Or Goran Dragic’s 34 points in a win against the Washington Wizards.

Then, there was Hassan Whiteside’s buzzer-beater over the Detroit Pistons.

And Tyler Johnson’s one-handed dunk on the Los Angeles Lakers.

Yes, this Miami squad did a little of just about everything this year.

Making Moves

Unfortunately, the Heat were thrown into their offseason earlier than expected. But, the good news is there’s certainly plenty to look forward to from the organization this summer.

While there are a handful of top-tier free agents out there looking for new homes, the front office’s focus is elsewhere: re-signing the likes of James and Waiters.

Back in April, owner Micky Arison posted this photo to his Instagram account, with a very telling caption…

Since then, all parties involved have made it clear they’re on the same page.

“I want to get it done as quick as possible,” Waiters said. “Let’s keep this thing rolling by any means. I don’t want to go into free agency with a couple days and make a decision. I don’t want that. I know where I want to be. Let’s just get it done. My mom loves it here. Would be mad at me [if I left]. My son loves it. My family loves it.”

What about Johnson? Rest assured, he feels the same way.

“I’m home. That’s what it feels like. I love it here. I had a great season. I love the culture here and I’m very passionate about this place… Who knows if I can get that on another team? Money has nothing to do with that. Basketball, I love the game and I love it here.”

Fans should also expect Dragic and Whiteside to stick around after both had tremendous seasons.

Now, unfortunately, the entirety of the 2016–17 gang probably won’t be able to stick together. Recently, it was announced that Willie Reed will decline his player option to become a free agent. This is a move that is definitely well-deserved for the center, but almost ensures he will no longer be residing in South Beach. While he is a worthy asset, his new contract will be too steep for the organization to take care of.

Reed’s recent decision, alongside the likes of Wayne Ellington’s uncertain future in Miami, leaves room for the Heat to add a few new faces to the mix. And although the unknown can be frightening, in Riley we trust.

2017–18

So, what should Heat Nation expect from their team next year? In a nutshell: success.

Between bringing back phenomenal talent, Justise Winslow hopefully making a full recovery, Bosh’s contract giving the organization some salary cap relief and coming off a high from their late-season push… the Miami Heat are about to give the East the surprise of a lifetime.

Hear that, Cleveland Cavaliers? Got that, Wade? After all, there are no fake gym rats here.

--

--

Allana Tachauer
16 Wins A Ring

Chitown, born and raised. Member of Heat Nation. It’s a little confusing.