How My Mother Gave Me A Future

Devils Advocate
18 in the Bay
Published in
3 min readMay 19, 2015

--

I interviewed my mother and focused on her journey to the United States.

“¿A qué edad vinistes a los Estados Unidos?”

A los 22

“¿Como llegastes aquí?”

Como llegue aquí?! Por tierra.

“¿Y porque vinistes?

Para buscar un mejor futuro para mi hija.

“¿Con quien vinistes?”

Con mi hija.

“¿Crees que fue difícil viajar con una niña?”

Fue muy difícil viajar con una niña de año y medio. Y a la vez tenia privilegios por tener una niña año y medio y me consentían un poco.

“¿Cual fue la parte mas difícil?”

Lo mas difícil fue dejar a mi família en El Salvador, tu padre, y viajar a tierras extrañas. Y también el viaje en el furgón, el trayectório para llegar fue difícil.

“¿Qué era el furgón?”

Un tráile grande donde venían como treinta personas atrás , todos venían atrás del furgón. Yo tuve la suerte de venir en la cabina contigo, mi hija. Bueno a la misma vez fue difícil, la gente de atrás llevaba hambre y hacían sus necesidades ayi atras. Fue muy difícil.

“¿Cuánto tiempo te tomo llegar a los Estados Unidos?”

Un mes y diez diás.

“¿Y se perdieron gente ó te perdistes tú?”

Si, me perdi en el desierto. Me quede como seis horas caminando, perdida, fue terrible. Pase el Rio Grande con mi hija de año y medio cargandola hací. Luego caminé tantas horas por el desierto bien mojada, con mucho frío.

“¿Algo mas qué quieras añadir?”

Si, si me diera la oportunidad de cruzar otra vez lo pensaría mas porqué es muy riesgoso, pones tu vida en peligro.

“¿Y piensas que valió la pena venir a los Estados Unidos?”

Si, valió la pena porqué estamos aquí saliendo adelante, mis hijas están estudiando, están preparándose. Nuestra meta es qué se gradúen, qué sean alguien graduadas, profesionales. Ya, pienso que valio la pena.

Gracias por su tiempo

How old were you when you came to the United States?

22.

How did you get here?

How did I get here?! By land.

And why did you come?

To give my daughter a better future.

Who did you come with?

My baby daughter.

Was it difficult to travel with a baby?

It was really difficult to travel with a 18-month-old. At the same time, I got certain privileges for having a toddler that made things a little easier for me.

What was the most difficult part?

The most difficult was leaving my family in El Salvador, your dad, and travel to a foreign place. And the trip in the truck, the journey to get here was really hard.

What was the truck like?

It was a big freight truck with 30 people in the back. I was lucky to get up in the passenger seat with you, my daughter. At the same time it was hard, the people in the back were starving for food and were going to the bathroom back there. It was really hard.

How long did it take to get to the United States?

A month and ten days.

Did the people get lost or did you get lost on the way?

Yeah, I got lost in the desert. I was there walking for six hours, lost — it was terrible. I crossed the Rio Grande carrying my 18-month-year-old daughter like this. Then I walked many hours in the desert all soaked, and really cold.

Would you like to add anything else?

Yeah, if I were given the opportunity to cross again, I would really think about it more because it’s really risky. You put your life in danger.

Do you think it was worth it to come to the United States?

Yes, it was worth it because we’re here getting ahead. My daughters are studying, preparing academically. Our goal is for them to graduate, that they be educated people, professionals. Yeah, I think it was worth it.

Thanks for your time.

Click the logo to read more student interviews.

--

--