Justine Acuña
18 in the Bay
Published in
2 min readMay 28, 2015

--

I remember my mum told me that whenever I would hear her play a song or just plainly hum to me when I was still in her tummy, I would make a lot of movements and kick her.

My mom can sing. She would try, but it’s not that good I tell you. But I would always listen to her, I have no choice anyway. Haha! I love my mom to death!

When I was born, she would always hear me hum. She already knew that I will be her kid who loves to sing.

In the Philippines, it was popular for kids to be busy with art lessons, basketball tournaments, dancing lessons and all the other things that you could think off. With my mom believing in me so much, she wanted me to have voice lessons. I was still unsure of it, but since I was doing it for my mom, why not, right?

I did my first voice lessons when I was eight years old. I was so nervous. I had that terror asian looking guy teacher. We would always start our lessons with a warm-up. He would play the piano starting with low notes and we would work our way up. I would follow and start singing Do-Re-Mi-Fa-So-La-Ti-Do, until I couldn’t reach the notes anymore. Imagine doing that again and again. Tiring, right!!!!! He made me choose songs to practice: Seasons of Love, Climb Every Mountain and Sa Ugoy Ng Duyan.

The songs that he chose were really nice, what I loved the most was Sa Ugoy Ng DuyanSa, a Filipino lullabye. This song matters to me the most because this was the first song that I performed in front of my mom.

Click the logo to read more student responses.

--

--