It was rough being 18

My brother’s experience of when he was 18 and his life now, a year later.

Zulma Carina
18 in the Bay
Published in
3 min readMay 14, 2015

--

Some of the struggles that I faced as an 18 year old were difficult. That is when I realized I had to grow up and become a man due to the fact that I am the eldest of five children.

My father was injured during work. He fell off a building and was disabled for almost three years. As soon as I graduated from high school, I decided to work so that I could help my dad solve most of his financial problems instead of going college. It was not easy, but it had to be done. I still work in order to help him out. Even though it wasn’t the best experience of my life, I knew that I would be rewarded for the courage of stepping up. Without that experience, now that I think about it, I would have never learned how to be responsible and hold myself accountable for my actions.

I am an undocumented person, so it wasn’t easy. It still isn’t easy. I have seen other 18 year olds struggling in life, but they are American citizens. Now imagine an undocumented 18 year old. He or she searching everywhere in order to help out his or her family but can’t because he or she does not have the right documents. Regardless of that, I thank God for the Dream Act that was passed because it gave me the chance to work here legally and stay in the United States. If it weren’t for that, I don’t know what would have happened.

I feel indifferent for what I did. It was an act that came to me naturally and when you do something because it comes from you, the results of it are already expected. I know I should react in a more positive way and should feel proud but I really don’t. I mean I’m happy, but at the same time it’s whatever. Things come and go. Things happen for a reason, and if this is what I was meant to do in order to grow up, then I guess I handled it pretty well.

I have been taught to be humble. I didn’t think twice about it. One day I just woke up and said you know what after graduation I am going to do this.

I just think about the present. I try to forget the past. Sometimes I think about the future because I know better things will come, but even that can be dangerous.

I don’t have any dreams right now. I just want to see my family happy, and I am seeing it right now. At one point that was my dream, but it has been accomplished. I’m going to try my best to keep it that way. I’m going to hope for the better.

When I was 18 my goal was to help my father with the money since he couldn’t work. I made it happen and with that, the happiness in my family came. I feel blessed to have my family come together again. I accomplished my goal, and now I’m just going to maintain my family’s happiness.

Click the logo to read more student interviews.

--

--

Zulma Carina
18 in the Bay

“If I am not for myself, who will be for me? If I am only for myself, what am I? And if not now, when?”