Senioritis

Al_ias
18 in the Bay
Published in
2 min readMay 12, 2015

--

An interview with my teacher

Mr. E gets frustrated when his students suffer from senioritis.

The symptoms are laziness, apathy, lack of concern due to the belief that they have already finished graduation even though they have a semester left.

It has a huge impact on me and my class. It hurts my soul how it is effecting my students so badly that seven of them may not graduate.

I don’t know how to cure senioritis.

Students don’t fully know that scholarships and even college acceptances can be taken away if grades go down. What I’m finding so much struggle with is that it truly has to do with an internal motivation, if students aren't motivated internally by their own desires, their own drives there is no real hope. Students have to find the motivation from within and I could do all the guiding I need to, I could set up all of the structure, all of the scaffold but if the student is not motivated within it’s all going to be for nothing.

I want students to know that it’s bigger than just not… it’s bigger.

Not putting the effort you need to in the last two weeks of school because its fun or cool thing to do can really fuck up future things. It’s not a healthy thing and I understand the sentiment, and there is no time in your life where you should be so unmotivated to learn, I understand if you are unmotivated to work but if you are so unmotivated to learn it is a dangerous thing and I think that's a life long danger, a life long disease to be avoided.

I don’t know the answer for it, yet.

If you suffer from it truly as a senior in high school then you will suffer from it when you’re at a dead end job you don’t want to do.

And without that internal passionate drive or motivation, man, the world is a bleak place.

Click the logo to read more student responses.

--

--