What would’ve Been

FlyJ
18 in the Bay
Published in
4 min readMay 26, 2015

--

I Remember Clearly

I REMEMBER CLEARLY!!!!

The fear in my own mother’s

HEART

As her she stood

Stood in the kitchen

HOPELESS

HELPLESS

IN

SHOCK

AND

IN

FEAR

The words: “W got shot”

The courage it took for another son

The Respect I have for this mentor

My brother P

To tell our mom

Three fuckin words

“W GOT SHOT”

AT 3:OO

IN

THE MORNING

TOOK COURAGE

I hatefully regret being part of that night

I mean who wants to hear that their brother

Who I was just with at the 49ers

2012–2013 Pre-season opener at Candlestick

against the Minnesota Vikings

A couple hours earlier

is now in the ER fighting for his life

A GREAT DAY WITH THE FAM IS NOW A NIGHTMARE

That wretched car ride

from THE chills GOING down our spine

To the possible reality we didn’t wanna see

filled with tears of pain

Our family knows what it’s like to be from the streets

We grew up around it

We grew up observing it

We grew up hearing it

from the walk

to the talk

But we knew never to be about it

My mother could give a damn about these lack of resources

that should’ve been around us

If we didn’t we have anything productive or positive to do after school

Then she made sure our asses was in the house after school

Her resource was the only resource

Her resource was the only resource we needed

Her resource was her faith in god that one day that we become more than just a kid from the hood

I come from a family where my father didn’t have a positive impact on my life

in the early stages of my life

I come from a family where

W, my oldest sibling

Was helping my mother pay bills

By the age of 16

W was destined to be the man of the house

Long before I was born

The dagger

That stabbed my families heart

Mentally Knocking us into

LIMBO!

A hell with one realization

ONE Realization that

THE PILLAR

THE PILLAR

that holds

our family together.

Is for the first time in his life vulnerable!

Visually vulnerable!

We never seen my brother show his vulnerability to us

The agony of learning that

Big Bruh

might not be there to fend for you

Left me helpless

IT HIT ME

Because then and there

I came to a conclusion

A conclusion that I might not go to college

A conclusion that maybe all a samoan is good for is a high school diploma

IF WE CAN EVEN GET TO THAT LEVEL AT THAT

It’s rare for a Samoan or an UCE to go to college

Samoans are mainly taught to graduate high school and get a job

HOWEVER!!!!

There is a group of samoan parents that actually want their kids to go to college to get a better job

My mother is one of those few to actually want to get us to a level

Blocked by a barrier

A barrier

blocking Samoans

and

all minorities from getting to the next

LEVEL

BUT beside that

The fact was that

There were two realities

Two realities facing my family

Two realities my family couldn’t decide

It was death

It was as if death!

Death itself

was staring my brother

right in his face

waiting to take his life

It was as if death was

Hoping that the faint heart beat my brother had would stop

Desperately waiting for the heartbeat monitor to stop beeping

My family could do nothing but pray and sit

His life was no longer in my families hands nor his own

His life was in the hands of the lord and the doctors

His will power is what helped him fight through his struggle

As the police took statements

We knew they wasn’t gonna do shit

The police in my neighborhood rarely come on time

So how do we expect them to be helpful

BUT PROPS TO THE MAN ABOVE

FOR HIS WONDERFUL WORKING MIRACLES

But a blessing in disguise happened that day

God showed us his power

He showed us

Just as easy he could take a life

He showed

Just how easy the worth of a life is

Even though we aren’t faithful to god

He is a loving god

And is

FOREVER

FAITHFUL

In the end I always remember Marvin Sapp singing this verse from

“Never Would Have made It” in my head

“Never could have made it without you

I would have lost it all

But, Now I see, how you were there for me

And I can say

I’m Stronger

I’m Wiser

I’m Better, Much Better

When I look back over all you brought me through

I see that you were the one I held onto.”

Click the logo to read all of the student essays.

--

--