WISE WORDS SAID

ages
18 in the Bay
Published in
4 min readMay 26, 2015

--

“WE WANT YOU TO BE BETTER THAN US, NOT HAVE TO DEAL AND GO THROUGH EVERYTHING THAT WE WENT THROUGH.”

Growing up, I was always able to talk to my family about anything that was going on in my life. Especially when it came to what was going on with school. For my parents my education was everything for them. They wanted me to succeed and be able to have everything that I wanted and more. They also told me, “Without education, you cannot succeed.” I always listened to what they had to say but never really cared about it, because they would say it so much, it just became the norm for me. Until, one day both my parents said it in a different tone than before that made me really see what they were trying to say. The words they said had stuck with me up until now and will continue to stay with me until I die.

I woke up from the car ride home. It was 8 o’clock and we had just came from my soccer practice. I was sweaty, tired, and just ready to shower and go back to sleep. I must have really smelled bad because everyone rushed out the car. I walked into the house, and it was so quiet and dark. I turned on all of the lights on and headed to get some clothes so I could shower. Before I got ready to hop in the shower my dad called me. He whistled and said, “mijo.” I called back, “What dad?” I was puzzled to see why he had called me. It was to talk to me about college and where I was going to go. Mainly because I had gotten some mail from CSU East Bay and CSU Monterey Bay. He had told me to take a seat and then my mother came into the room and said, “What is going on here?” She too was confused and did not know what was going on. I was kind of nervous, not knowing what he was going to say. My mom had then sat down next to him. You got mail today from some colleges.

“Are you prepared for college?” said my dad. I knew college was the next step for me, but what I would study in college I did not know. “Do you want to go to college or do you want to work?” I honestly did not know what I wanted to do. Then my dad looked at me and said, “These are the things that you have to think about. You cannot waste your time. You are about to be 18 years old. You are also about to graduate from high school in a couple of months. Are you sure you are ready for this?” I did not know, I was not really thinking about it. It was not something on my mind. He said, “We do not what to see you suffer the way that I suffered. You have the opportunity to be better, so why don’t you?” I then looked up and was looking my father in the eyes.

My mom started to tear and her eyes were watery. She was always so sensitive, she cares a lot about me and my brother. My dad looked at me and says, “We love you very much mijo, and we want the best for you. I have worked in the sun, in the blazing heat. It is hard out there, it is not meant for everyone. You have the chance to be able to work in an office, and if you have that opportunity, you should go for it.” He started to tear up himself, and he was shaking. He said, “Mijo, you’re smart, and you can speak both languages. A lot of places will offer you a job. Take it. Do not be like me, working all the time, coming home tired and beat down all the time. I love what I do, but if I could change it I would Mijo. I need you to not suffer. You have to go to college and get your degree. Then you will not have to work all the time like me and you will be happy. I love you mijo and I want the best for you.” My dad looked at my mom, kissed her on the lips. Then looked back at me. He said, “ We both know that you will achieve a lot. We will always be here for you when you need us.”

I was now tearing up. I wiped my tears and hugged both my parents. I then went to shower. That night as I laid in bed, all I could think was about my future. Those words that my dad said would stay with me forever. No matter what happens I know I would need to make my parents proud and let them know that everything they worked for when I was young was not for nothing.

Click the logo to read more student essays.

--

--