20abiddl
18 Travelers
Published in
3 min readDec 16, 2015

--

La Lucha Sangucheria

You will feel delighted once you have a taste of Peruvian culture. La Lucha Sangucheria provides all of this. La Lucha is conveniently located in “Parque Kennedy” and has other restaurants throughout Lima (Miraflores and San Isidro). You can’t even begin to savour the delectable taste of a greasy, soft, and mellow chicharron sandwich. This has got to be one of the best restaurant´s I have ever been to. If you are looking for a true peruvian gastronomic experience this is the place to go to. Your taste buds will have the time of their lives.

When arriving at La Lucha you will be welcomed by a deliciously satisfying smell. Your mouth will start to water and it will be impossible to knock the smell of your head. It was a busy place and everyone was waiting anxiously in line in order to get attended. There were two cash registers and they were working at full speed attending the customers and providing the best service possible in order to give you a rewarding experience. The restaurant has a cozy and soothing environment with a simple and rustic design. The restaurant located in “Parque Kennedy” gives more of a “Sepia effect” unlike the other restaurants such as in “Larcomar” or in el “Ovalo Gutierrez” which give more of a fast food experience. The tables had enough space and won’t make you feel as if you are being suffocated therefor making it a real pleasurable experience.

The line for the cash register was around 7 minutes, but trust me, it’s worth the wait. During those minutes I had already figured out what I was going to order and was anxious to get my food. According to Tripadvisor La Lucha is number 15 in Peru´s top 20 restaurants, so If you are visiting Peru and you haven’t eaten at La Lucha well you simply have´not completed your Peruvian experience. The aromas were killing me and my hunger was growing bigger and bigger every second that passed by. By going there you will let savouries one of the best sandwiches that Peru can offer.

After 10 minutes of waiting, my order was ready. I was called out and walked up to the counter. I had ordered a Chicharron Sandwich, Chicha Morada, and Papas Huayro (native potato). These had been featured in Becky Abroad´s blog post about La Lucha. You could really feel the actual Chicha when drinking this unlike in other places were all you feel is water with a ton of sugar, I really enjoyed this. After going to La Lucha you might agree with Becky that the sandwich was a little bit dry, but there is nothing that you can’t fix with some of La Lucha´s special tartar sauce. When I was eating this I could feel all the different flavors mixing together inside my mouth and creating a sensational taste.

After this experience I would more than coax you to go to La Lucha so you can have as good or even better experience than mine of eating one of Peru`s finest servings. I thought that the food in general was outstanding and there is nothing that I would change about it, but the only way of knowing if it trully is a an outstanding place is by going there yourself. So if you are in Lima and are craving for some good food, well La Lucha is the place to go.

--

--