Paulina D
18 Travelers
Published in
4 min readNov 25, 2015

--

~ Sal de Maras ~

Ah, the smell of salt and fresh air. There is no elixir on this blessed earth like it.

The salt pools

Sal (salt) de Maras is a salt mine where natives that inhabit the town of Maras harvest salt to ship to other parts of Peru. There are many salt pools where the salt gets mined. These salts are edible and actually very requested throughout Peru.

I gaped out the bus window, at the calming and relaxing panorama. The mountains and valleys look like a painting, they didn’t seem real. As we got closer to the town of Maras (located 48km north of the city of Cusco), the more delighted I would feel. The one hour drive had been worth it, as soon as we are close to our destiny, I could see the white blanket covering the large valley.

When I arrived, first thing I saw was the Sal de Maras market, there was salt every where! In all shades of white and pink and with different spices (8 soles a kilo of salt). With Cusco patterned blankets stacked on top of each other (50–100 soles). All the workers trying to sell their goods. “Compre la sal de maras condimentada o las papas con sal!” (“Buy the condimented maras salt or your salted fries”) They told me in spanish. But it wasn’t an overwhelming way, but an appeasing way.

Condimente

There I purchased a charming moon rock necklace (15 soles) and two heart shaped salt rocks (10 for both) for my sister and friend. There were thousands of different rocks and many shapes you could choose from. There were transparent, green, red, blue, gold, shinley and many others.

As soon as I started walking through the complex pathway (entry costs 5 soles) through the salt mines, my feet were sore. Sometimes the pathways whereas slender as my shoe, but others it was like a meter wide.

When the pathway was small, I went anxious, all I could think of was falling, falling into a salty cold, small body of water. The air was relatively thin and so it was hard to breath with the high altitude (3380 meter above sea level)

But I have to say the view was splendid. There were salt pools of all different shades of white and pink. Some were salmon colored, some were cream or even brown, but others were as white as pearl. The different colors occur because of the rain that contaminates the salt pools.

There were more than 3,000 pools all over the salt mine. As I went through the small “hike” I passed a small river flowing next to the pathway. I will never forget how it felt, dipping your finger in the small current, and give it a lick. The strong taste of salt filled my mouth, I had a sensation like no other!

Though the 45–60 minute walk, there were many gorgeous places to take awesome pictures on the edge with the salt ponds and the amazing valley down below, or just enjoy the wondrous view.

By the end of the walk, gratefully, I didn’t fall. It was a very funny and beautiful experience that I really enjoyed. The view of the valley and salt pools made me fall in love. This was one of the most beautiful panoramas I have ever experienced in my life, I guess I liked the simplicity of it. I would recommend friends and family to come and experience all the sensations, feelings and mostly the view. The slat is white, my soul is happy and my mouth is smiling. I really enjoyed the visit to Maras. The experience was worth the hike!

--

--

Paulina D
18 Travelers

- Student in the American School or Lima, Peru -