A Study in Chrome: A Yavin 2017 Report

Janus Avivson
186th Squadron
Published in
8 min readFeb 22, 2017

This year’s Yavin was a 370 person event. I attended Yavin last year, and failed to make day 2 with Bro-bots (going 3–3)

This year, I failed to get a ticket, and put myself on the waiting list. I managed to purchase a ticket on the Wednesday before Yavin, and decided to fly the dreaded Paratanni, having flown 10–15 games with it previously.

Scum within, Scum without.

Fenn Rau: Attanni Mindlink, Concord Dawn title, Autothrusters

Asajj Ventress: Attanni Mindlink, Latts Razzi crew

Manaroo (Roo): Attanni Mindlink

This list is one of the top lists in the current meta, so I thought I’d jump on the hype train for once. I’ve been flying VI Ketsu, Fearlessness Fenn and a headhunter with missiles as soon as wave 9 dropped, so I’m pretty decent at flying Fangs and the Shadow Caster.

Round 1 vs Phil Wilson

VT-49 Decimator Rear admiral Chiraneau: VI, Gunner, Vader, Kylo, Dauntless title, Engine Upgrade.

Tie Defender Countess Ryad: PTL, Tie /X7 title, Twin Ion Engine Mk.II

I see Decimator Defender, and an ideal Deci build to stomp on poor Fenn. I thought to sacrifice Fenn but at least deal some damage on the Decimator, and to leave Asajj and Roo to take on Ryad. This didn’t happen as Fenn got caught at range two and swatted out of the sky by Gunner/Vader, then Asajj went down without dealing much damage thanks to blinded pilot from Kylo.

Phil, after much thought, decided to kill his Deci with Vader before Roo did, leaving a damaged Roo vs a full health Ryad. Roo had no chance and folded vs Ryad. I lamented my lack of actual strategy used, and the well designed build for taking on Fenn.

Loss 64–100

Round 2 vs Nick Smith

Tie Advanced Darth Vader: Juke, Tie/X1 title, ATC, Prockets, Engine Upgrade

Tie Advanced Prototype Inquisitor: Juke, Ion Pulse Missiles, Autothrusters, Tie/V1 title.

Tie Striker Pure Sabacc: Swarm Leader, Adptive Ailerons title, Lightweight Frame

Well, that Pure Sabacc was rather scary looking, however he never got to use Swarm Leader. Nick sent Vader after Roo, while I sent Asajj and Fenn after the Inquisitor and Pure Sabacc.

Roo spent a few turns blocking Vader after Asajj stressed him while flying past, and Fenn and Asajj took out Vader’s wing mates while Roo took four damage from a Procket. I then managed to take Vader out before he reduced Roo to half health.

Win 100–0

Round 3 Daniel Prewitt

VCX-100 Kanan: FCS, Recon Spec, Rey, TLT, Tactical Jammer, Ghost title

Attack Shuttle Zeb: Autoblaster Turret, Chopper crew, Phantom title

X-Wing Biggs: M9 G8, Integrated Astromech

I had never played vs Kanan in the Ghost before, so this was quite an interesting match up. I tried to stress then block the Ghost, which I did long enough to kill Biggs, but took quite a pounding on Roo and Asajj. Eventually, it was just Asajj vs Kanan and I was losing on points (54–60). Then my opponent decided to release Zeb. Had I managed to kill, Zeb I would have won, however I just couldn’t destroy him and then Asajj died.

Loss 54-100

Round 4 vs Rens Spierings

Jumpmaster 5000 Manaroo: Attanni Mindlink, K4 Security Droid, Unhinged Astromech

Protectorate Starfighter Fenn: Attanni Mindlink, Concord Dawn title, Autothrusters

StarViper Guri: Attanni Mindlink, Virago title, Collision Detector, Autothrusters.

At this point, I’m 1–2, and need to go 5–2 to make day two. If you get fourwins you receive a set of target locks, so I set my sights on that.

A Starviper! I love Rens for bringing Guri along, unfortunately Asajj loves stressing out mindlink lists, and during the first engagement I managed to destroy his Fenn for a few damage on Asajj; an unfair trade for him. Guri tried to tangle with my Roo but with Asajj chasing his Roo down after Fenn destroyed Guri, it was only a matter of time until I won.

win 100–0

Round 5 vs Oliver Neil

Millennium Falcon Rey: Expertise, Kanan crew, new title, C-3Po, Gunner Smuggling Compartment, Scavenger Crane, Countermeasures.

A-Wing Jake Farrell: PTL, VI, A-Wing Test Pilot title, Prockets, Autothrusters.

Falcon and Jake, having flown against this list a few times before, I was aware of what it could do, but I still hadn’t had many games vs Rey with the new title.

Asajj did a good job of keeping the stress on Rey, and managed to survive a turn in which she really had no right to, limping away on one hull. However this distraction and blocking from Roo let Fenn land 2 range 1 shots into Rey, destroying her.

Then it was just a matter of chasing Jake around for several turns before Fenn managed to nail him, however Asajj had finally been caught by Jake.

Fenn loves range 1!

win 100–40

Round 6 vs Gareth Stoneham

Lancer-Class Pursuit Craft Asajj, PTL, Latts Razzi crew, BMST

Protectorate Starfighter Fenn: PTL, Concord Dawn title, Autothrusters

M3-A Interceptor Tansarii Point Veteran: Trick Shot, “Heavy Scyk” title, “Mangler” Cannon

Stress!

At this point in the day, Gareth and I were feeling the fatigue set in. This game had a lot of sloppy moves on both our parts, as well as ineffective dice for the first half of the game. Despite being stressed quite a lot, I was able to manage it and the action economy of Mindlink proved more useful then PTL, especially considering our poor beginning. The pivotal moment was when both our Fenns traded range three shots, while on two hull. Gareth’s went pop while mine dodged the return fire, and then it was just mopping up.

Win 100–0

As I hand in the results slip I receive a set of target locks for getting four wins, goal achieved.

Round 7 vs Rick Porsius

Jumpmaster 5000 Contracted Scout: Attanni Mindlink, Plasma Torps, Extra Munitions, R4-Agromech, 4-Lom, Guidance Chips

Jumpmaster 5000 Contracted Scout: Attanni Mindlink, Plasma Torps, Extra Munitions, Overclocked R4, Guidance Chips

Jumpmaster 5000 Contracted Scout: Attanni Mindlink, Proton Torps, Extra Munitions, R4-Agromech, Boba Fett, Guidance Chips

I really respect Rick’s attitude during this game, it was his third match up against Paratanni today, and he had lost the previous games. However I still have a healthy respect for three scouts loaded up with ordinance.

Even more stress!

Rick set up on the left side of the board, and as soon as I realised that the Scouts wouldn’t be able to turn in and clear his stress, I decide to joust them with Asajj while flanking with Fenn. Asajj gets blocked then double torped on turn two, loosing Latts Razzi, however Fenn’s five forward and boost twice has gotten him into range one, and he starts doing what he does best. Asajj retreats and becomes a focus factory while Roo wades in and starts helping Fenn.

Win 100–20

The end of the day rolls round, and I have made it to day two! A quick check of the standings and I’m 24th, 2nd of the 5–2s.

Day Two

As I register, I receive the Hanger Bay prizes, and am told that if I win onegame I shall get 10 shield tokens, and if I win a second I’ll get 10 more. Today’s aim is to get at least 10 shields.

Round 8 vs Stjepan Pavuna

Millennium Falcon Rey: Expertise, Finn, Kanan, new title, smuggling compartment, Inertial Dampners

Arc-170 Norra: PTL, C-3PO, R2-D2, Alliance Overhaul title, Vectored Thrusters

With a healthy respect of Rey after my game against her in round five, I made her my target priority.

I carried on with the usual plan of stressing with Asajj, while trying to deal as much damage with Fenn before he gets caught. Fenn survived a range one head to head with Rey only thanks to Stjepan rerolling blanks into blanks, as I’d gotten so eager to attack that I had forgotten to stress with Asajj. I eventually traded Rey for Asajj, and it was only a matter of time before Nora was victim to Fenn.

Win 100–40

Round 9 vs Ryan Davies

Tie Phantom Whisper: VI, FCS, Agent Kallus, Advanced Cloaking Device.

Tie F/O Fighter Omega Leader: Juke, Comms Relay.

Lambda Shuttle Captain Yorr: Collision Detector, Emperor Palpatine crew.

I’ve known Ryan for a while now, but rarely get paired against him.

Poor Ryan wastes OL’s action on a barrel roll to better set up, so I rush OL with Asajj and Fenn. Despite target locking Asajj, OL goes down in the second turn. I then take Yorr out, and trap Whisper with Asajj, though not before Whisper reduces Asajj to half health.

Win 100–20

I received my second set of shield tokens after this game, and I know I’ve gotta be quite high in the rankings as my MOV was pretty decent. One more win and I’m probably in the top 8!

Round 10 vs Kevin Bellamy

Aggressor IG 88B, Crack Shot, FCS, HLC, Tractor Beam, Glitterstim, IG-2000 title, Autothrusters

Aggressor IG 88C, Crack Shot, FCS, “Mangler” Cannon, Tractor Beam, Glitterstim, IG-2000 title, Autothrusters

I haven’t played against FCS Bro-bots in ages, and was actually quite worried about predicting their moves.

Kevin proceeded to keep mixing it up, and forcing me to split up my ships as he wrong footed me. The few shots I was getting were bouncing off as without a TL I was unable to manage more then one hit amongst three red dice. I eventually caught C and reduced it to half health, however a turn later Fenn had died, Roo was damaged and Asajj had one hull left. The Bro-bots cleaned up pretty quickly.

Loss 24–100

Checking the standings after I had finished, I found out that after round 9 I was ranked 9th. Had I won the last game, I would have been very likely to have made it into the top 8. However it was a pleasure to play Kevin, and I look forward to meeting him on the tabletop again.

I ended up finishing a very respectable 22nd, and 4th out of the 15 186th Squadron pilots that attended Yavin.

SWAG

I had a really great time, and am very glad I managed to grab a ticket at the last minute. Being surrounded by so many games of X-Wing is just amazing and I fully recommend heading to an event such as this if you can.

--

--