Dear Darkness

Bryson Wellesley
18percent
Published in
1 min readApr 20, 2019

Dear Darkness,

You’re always here,

You never leave.

You dwell within me,

Never failing to make yourself known.

You make people check out early,

And you grow stronger in those near by.

You constantly make things worse,

Only ever thinking about yourself.

You always take, but never give,

You always laugh at the pain you cause,

And you find your peace in people’s sadness and misery.

But guess what? Your worst enemy is my best friend.

Her name is Hope.

Hope is the light, you are the dark,

She always helps, but you never do.

You try to kill me, but light pushes through.

Awful creation, haven’t you heard?

Darkness can’t exist when light is here.

The light will rise and you will fall, so guess what depression?

As it turns out, I found someone far better than you.

Yes, I know, you’re totally right. I’ll never find someone like you.

But darlin, that’s the point.

I’m happy to say it, I hope you know,

But depression, I’m finally breaking up with you.

--

--