Yellow
18percent
Published in
1 min readDec 31, 2019

--

All images’ credits go to their owners unless otherwise stated.

My shadow is thin and pretty
My shadow is what I used wish could have been me
Everyone saw my appearance and chose that to define me and compared me to the thinness of my shadow
I realized my shadow isn’t me, my shadow is 2-D instead of three dimensional
It’s only two dimensions of dark and light
Instead I’m different from her, I am a human in a real life of other 3-D figures
My brain is diversified, my body is tall & curvy, and beautiful.
I don’t shame myself for having this weight, I don’t have fight to stop comparing my shadow and the real me
I don’t have to fight and hate myself or wish about change
I learned I should love myself, I learned my looks don’t matter and that what’s within is more important
I learned that perspectives are like a locket or an amethyst.
Shallow superficials only see the looks with eyes of disgust but the true souls of loving cherishers see the importance and beauty within
What’s on the outside really truly doesn’t matter because what’s within is more important

- Rishika Patel

--

--

Yellow
18percent

I am a writer for the 18percent blog. I write about mental health issues and share experiences from my own life in order to show how bad they really are.