Jude E. Legacy
18percent
Published in
3 min readJul 25, 2018

--

The Mirror’s Pledge Of Allegiance

Every time I look in a mirror,

My reflection asks,

“Do you like what you see?”

Of course, that’s a joke

Between her and me.

A joke that tells me she caught me.

A joke that tells me she knows the answer.

Still, I need to ask myself,

Do I like what I see?

I’ve looked into my reflection’s small, brown eyes

Enough times to know there’s green in them.

I’ve looked at my reflection’s thin, brown hair

Enough times to know that there’s blonde in it.

I’ve observed my reflection

A thousand times.

A million times.

A billion times.

But, every time I look,

All I’m doing is waiting for the day

That I look into my reflection’s eyes

And find contentment instead of disappointment.

All I’m doing is waiting for the day

That I look at my reflection’s hair

And see it’s luscious, thick and wavy.

All I’m doing is waiting for the day

That I look at my reflection’s face

And find it’s not wrapped in fatty, porous skin.

All I’m doing is waiting for the day

That I look into my reflection’s face

And observe that who I’m seeing

Isn’t me at all…

Every time I look in the mirror,

I’m waiting for me to disappear

And in my place,

A perfect model of her race.

A genuine, smiling caring person,

Not this current sack of filth I’m cursin’.

One who doesn’t ever worry her pretty little head

Would be standing in my stead…

“That day hasn’t come yet,”

I say to the mirror.

The girl with hollow eyes

On the glass’s other side

echoes my despair back at me,

Adding insult to injury.

Every time I look in a mirror,

My reflection asks,

“Do you like what you see?”

Every time she does, I say, “Sure.”

Still, I need to ask myself,

Do I like what I see?

But, I already know the answer.

It looms over me

Like a shadow, like a wave,

Like an agonizingly long pause,

Before the action of a movie starts…

“Do I like what I see?” I ask the mirror.

My reflection looks up at me

With those brown and green eyes

And opens her cracked, dry lips

To utter the words,

“No. No you don’t…

But keep this a secret,

Between the two of us.”

Then, I make a pinky promise with my

Shadows as they latch to me

Like shackles of iron.

As they weigh me down, they lift me up.

I feel like a beggar emperor

Who can stand before a multitude,

With her eyes pointed downward

And shout with a voice of steel,

“Veni, vidi, vici,”

With shaking, quaking,

Epileptic knees.

As I look into the deep abyss

Of my reflection’s dark pupils,

I can see my future unfurl

Before my eyes like a scroll.

As I fall to the ground, I will shout to the heavens

Of my undying allegiance

To the shadowy shackles of silence.

With my dying breath,

I will look up and see my reflection standing

Amongst the crowd of angry assassins

And I will whisper,

“Et tu?” as my last words.

My face will be one of surprise to see

The one thing I thought was certain,

the one constant I thought friend

Was the one thing that was my end.

But, it’s too late to think now.

My celeritas has made the throw.

The deed is done, the die is cast.

“Alea iacta est.”

I will ride out into the beautiful battlefield,

Out my door and into the world,

With a drawn sword and a plastered smile.

I have made a pact with my mirror,

A pledge to, one day, disappear.

--

--

Jude E. Legacy
18percent

I’m a college student that likes to write poetry. I also have a blog website where you can find more of my work: stellarcascadeblogs.com